Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Rules for Members of the House of Commons

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons​ applies to all 338 elected Members of Parliament. It sets out certain obligations and prohibits certain activities that involve conflicts between private and public interests or have the potential to do so.​

Please click on the following link to consult a Summary of Rules for Members of the House of Commons​.

Please click on the links on the left to learn about the Code’s rules on specific t​opics.

To consult the text of the Code, please click on the following link:

D​isclosure and public declaration rules for Members are outlined on the Reporting page.​​

​To help M​embers comply with the Code, the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner issues advisory opinions that inform them about matters related to the Code. Advisory opinions ​set forth the Commissioner's interpretation of its provisions as they apply to specific cases. Authority to publish opinions for the guidance of Members is provided in subsection 26(4) of the Code.

While prevention is the major focus of the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, the Commissioner also applies the enforcement provisions of the Code as necessary. The Commissioner can investigate possible contraventions of the Code. The Commissioner is not empowered to impose sanctions under the Code, but may recommend sanctions in investigation reports when a contravention of the Code has been found.

Members who are ministers or parliamentary secretaries​ must also comply with the ​Conflict of Interest Act​.​


​​​ ​​





Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Règles s’appliquant aux députées et députés

​​​​​​​​​​​​Le Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés s'applique aux 338 députées et députés. Il prescrit certaines obligations et interdit certaines activités qui entraînent des conflits entre les intérêts personnels et les intérêts publics ou qui sont susceptibles de le faire.

Veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant pour consulter le Sommaire des règles s'appliquant aux députées et aux députés​.

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens à gauche pour vous informer sur les r​​ègles du Code sur des sujets particuliers.

Pour consulter le texte​ des régimes, veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant :

Les règles de divulgation et de déclaration publique visant les députés se trouvent à la page intitulée Déclaration​ de ce site Web.​

Pour aid​er les députés à se conformer au Code, le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique ​produit des avis consultatifs qui les informent au sujet de questions liées au Code. Les avis consultatifs expliquent la façon dont le commissaire interprète l'application de ses dispositions dans des cas particuliers. Le pouvoir de publier des avis pour guider la députation entière est établi dans le paragraphe 26(4) du Code. 

Bien que la prévention soit la priorité du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique, le commissaire fait aussi bon usage, au besoin, des dispositions d'application du Code. Le commissaire peut mener des enquêtes sur de possibles contraventions au Code. Il n'a pas le pouvoir d'imposer des sanctions en vertu du Code. Toutefois, il peut recommander l'application de sanctions dans ses rapports d'enquête s'il conclut qu'un député a contrevenu au Code.​

​Les députés qui sont ministres ou secrétaires parlementaires​ doivent aussi se conformer à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts.



Consulter les avis consultatifs


Date de modification :