Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Fundraising

​​​​​​​​​PDF​ Version


This document is intended to provide general information about your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act. It must be read in conjunction with other relevant information notices. Public office holders are encouraged to contact the Office for confidential advice about their individual situation. Please call 613-995-0721 or email ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

This document provides general advice for public office holders on how to comply with the Conflict of Interest Act while participating in fundraising activities.


Source:  Section 16 of the Conflict of Interest Act

1. What is required by the Conflict of Interest Act?

You are prohibited from personally soliciting funds from any person or organization if doing so would place you in a conflict of interest.

You are in a conflict of interest when you exercise an official power, duty or function that provides an opportunity to further your private interests or those of your relatives[i] or friends[ii] or to improperly further another person's private interests[iii].

2. What fundraising activities are permitted?

As long as these activities do not place you in a conflict of interest, the Act does not prevent you from engaging in fundraising for charitable or political purposes.

For example, you may:

  • directly solicit monetary donations on behalf of a charitable foundation or an electoral district association;
  • sell tickets or issue invitations to fundraising events organized by a charitable organization or an electoral district association;
  • be an honorary patron;
  • lend your name to a trust fund; and
  • participate in sponsored events such as sports tournaments, races or other events.

3. What activities are prohibited?

To avoid placing yourself in a conflict of interest when engaging in fundraising for charitable or political purposes, you must not:

  • Use departmental resources for fundraising, for example, sending out funding requests from your organization's email address or using its letterhead.
  • Solicit funds from a person or organization with which you, your office or your public sector entity have had official dealings or with which there is a reasonable likelihood that you may have official dealings.
  • Solicit funds from a person or organization that has lobbied or is likely to lobby you, your office or your public sector entity.
  • Establish a charitable foundation for the purpose of raising money to specifically benefit your private interests or those of a relative or friend.
  • Identify yourself as a public office holder when soliciting funds on behalf of a charitable foundation.

4. Compliance measures for future dealings

If you have previously solicited donations from a person or organization that subsequently has official dealings with you, your office or your public sector entity, to avoid placing yourself in a conflict of interest, you must recuse yourself from any discussion, decision, debate or vote concerning that person or organization.

If it is likely that a person or organization from which you have previously solicited donations will have regular official dealings with your office or your public sector entity in the future, our Office can help you put in place an appropriate compliance measure, such as a conflict of interest screen. Once a screen is in place, matters involving that individual, company or organization will not be brought to your attention.

5. Other guidelines and rules

The Prime Minister's Open and Accountable Government (2015) includes ethical and political activity guidelines for certain reporting public office holders. Our Office does not administer Open and Accountable Government and cannot provide advice on how to comply with it.

Ministers, ministers of state and parliamentary secretaries are also subject to the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons and may wish to consult the Advisory Opinion on Fundraising and the Members' Code.

Other Acts of Parliament, your organization's code of values and ethics or your terms and conditions of employment may prohibit you from engaging in certain fundraising activities.

You are encouraged to consult the documents identified above to determine whether you may participate in these or other activities.


i Subsection 2(3) of the Conflict of Interest Act defines relatives as: 

Persons who are related to a public office holder by birth, marriage, common-law partnership, adoption or affinity are the public office holder's relatives for the purposes of this Act unless the Commissioner determines, either generally or in relation to a particular public office holder, that it is not necessary for the purposes of this Act that a person or a class of persons be considered a relative of a public office holder.

ii The Commissioner has interpreted "friend" to mean individuals who have a close bond of friendship, a feeling of affection or a special kinship with the public office holder. It does not include members of a broad social circle of business associates or colleagues unless such a relationship has developed.

iii See, for example, The R​aitt ReportThe Dykstra Report, and The Glover Report.

In this video, Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner Mario Dion explains the Conflict of Interest Act's rules related to fundraising.

View T​ranscript


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

La sollicitation de fonds

​​​​​​​​Version ​PDF​


Ce document a pour objet de fournir des renseignements généraux sur vos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Il doit être lu conjointement avec d'autres avis d'information pertinents. Pour tout conseil confidentiel propre à leur situation, les titulaires de charge publique sont invités à communiquer avec le Commissariat au 613-995-0721 ou à ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

Ce document fournit aux titulaires de charge publique des conseils généraux sur la façon de se conformer à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts alors qu'ils participent à des activités de financement.


Source :  Article 16 de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts

1. Quelles sont les exigences de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts?

Il vous est interdit de solliciter personnellement des fonds auprès d'une personne ou d'une organisation si l'exercice d'une telle activité vous placerait dans une situation de conflit d'intérêts.

Vous vous trouverez en situation de conflit d'intérêts si vous exercez un pouvoir officiel ou une fonction officielle qui vous fournit la possibilité de favoriser votre intérêt personnel ou celui d'un parent[i] ou d'un ami[ii] ou de favoriser de façon irrégulière celui de toute autre personne[iii].

2. Quelles activités de financement sont permises?

À condition qu'elles ne vous placent pas dans une situation de conflit d'intérêts, la Loi ne vous empêche pas de participer à des activités de financement à des fins caritatives ou politiques.

Par exemple, il vous est possible :

  • de solliciter directement des dons en argent au nom d'une œuvre de bienfaisance ou d'une association de circonscription;
  • de vendre des billets ou de lancer des invitations à des activités de financement organisées par une œuvre de bienfaisance ou une association de circonscription;
  • d'être président honoraire;
  • de prêter votre nom à un fonds en fiducie;
  • de participer à des activités commanditées, telles que les tournois sportifs et les courses.

3. Quelles activités sont interdites?

Pour éviter de vous placer dans une situation de conflit d'intérêts lorsque vous participez à une activité de financement à des fins caritatives ou politiques, il vous est interdit de :

  • vous servir des ressources du ministère pour solliciter des fonds, comme envoyer des demandes de financement à partir de votre adresse courriel ou avec votre papier à en‑tête professionnels;
  • solliciter des fonds d'une personne ou organisation avec laquelle votre bureau, votre entité du secteur public ou vous-même avez eu ou pourriez raisonnablement avoir des rapports officiels;
  • solliciter des fonds d'une personne ou d'une organisation qui a déjà exercé ou qui exercera probablement des activités de lobbying auprès de vous, votre bureau ou votre entité du secteur public;
  • créer une œuvre de bienfaisance dans le but d'amasser des fonds qui serviront précisément votre intérêt personnel ou celui d'un parent ou d'un ami;
  • vous présenter comme titulaire de charge publique lorsque vous sollicitez des fonds au nom d'une œuvre de bienfaisance.

4. Mesures de conformité pour les rapports futurs

Si vous avez déjà sollicité des dons d'une personne ou d'une organisation et celle-ci a par la suite des rapports officiels avec votre entité du secteur public, votre bureau ou vous-même, vous devrez vous récuser concernant une discussion, une décision, un débat ou un vote lié à cette personne ou organisation pour éviter de vous placer dans une situation de conflit d'intérêts.

Dans le cas où une personne ou organisation de qui vous avez sollicité des dons aura probablement des rapports officiels avec votre entité publique, votre bureau ou vous-même, le Commissariat vous aidera à prendre une mesure d'observation appropriée, comme un filtre anti-conflits d'intérêts. Une fois le filtre en place, les questions concernant cette personne, entreprise ou organisation ne seront plus portées à votre attention.

5. Autres lignes directrices et règles

Le document du premier ministre intitulé Pour un gouvernement ouvert et responsable (2015) comprend des lignes directrices sur l'éthique et les activités politiques à l'intention de certains titulaires de charge publique principaux. Le Commissariat n'est pas chargé de faire respecter les lignes directrices énoncées dans ce document et ne peut donc pas fournir d'avis sur la manière de s'y conformer.

Les ministres, les ministres d'État et les secrétaires parlementaires sont également assujettis au Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés et sont invités à consulter l'avis consultatif sur la sollicitation de fonds et le Code des députés.

Il se peut que d'autres lois du Parlement, le code des valeurs et d'éthique de votre organisation ou encore vos conditions d'emploi vous empêchent de prendre part à certaines activités de financement.

Vous êtes invité à consulter les documents susmentionnés afin de déterminer si vous pouvez participer à ces activités ou d'autres.


i Le paragraphe 2(3) de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts définit un parent comme étant :

Toute personne apparentée à un titulaire de charge publique par les liens du mariage, d'une union de fait, de la filiation ou de l'adoption ou encore liée à lui par affinité est un parent de celui-ci pour l'application de la présente loi, à moins que le commissaire n'en vienne à la conclusion que, de façon générale ou à l'égard d'un titulaire de charge publique en particulier, il n'est pas nécessaire pour l'application de la présente loi de considérer telle personne ou catégorie de personnes comme un parent du titulaire.

ii Le commissaire a interprété un « ami » comme étant une personne avec laquelle un titulaire de charge publique entretient un lien étroit d'amitié, un sentiment d'affection ou un lien spécial, ce qui exclut les connaissances d'un grand cercle social de partenaires d'affaires ou de collègues, à moins que de tels liens n'aient été développés.

iii Voir, par exemple, Le rapport ​Raitt, Le rapport Dykstra et Le rapport Glover.

Dans cette vi​déo, le commissaire aux co​nflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique Mario Dion explique les exigenc​es de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts relatives à la sollicita​tion de fonds.


Date de modification :