Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Overview of the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons

​P​DF​​ Version​

The Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons seeks to ​prevent conflicts between private interests and the public duties of all 338 Members of the House of Commons.

The Code was adopted by the House of Commons in April 2004 and amended in June 2007, June 2008, June 2009 and October 2015. It is appended to the Standing Orders of the House of Commons, the permanent written rules under which the House regulates its proceedings.

The Code is administered by the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, who is mandated under the Parliament of Canada Act to "perform the duties and functions assigned by the House of Commons for governing the conduct of its members when they are carrying out the duties and functions of their office as members of that House." (subsection 86(1))

The Code includes rules on avoiding conflict of interest, processes for the confidential disclosure of private interests to the Commissioner, procedures for making Members’ summary information public, an advisory role for the Commissioner and a process for conducting inquiries into alleged contraventions of the rules by Members.

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs is mandated to review and report on all matters relating to the Code. Commissioner Mario Dion meets from time to time with the Committee to discuss matters related to the administration of the Code.


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Aperçu du Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés

​Version P​D​F​

Le Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés vise à prévenir les conflits entre les intérêts personnels et les fonctions publiques des 338 députés.

Le Code a été adopté par la Chambre des communes en avril 2004 puis modifié en juin 2007, juin 2008, juin 2009 et octobre 2015. Il figure en annexe du Règlement de la Chambre des communes, les règles écrites qui orientent les travaux de la Chambre des communes.

Le Code est appliqué par le commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, qui, en vertu de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada « s’acquitte des fonctions qui lui sont conférées par la Chambre des communes en vue de régir la conduite des députés lorsqu’ils exercent la charge de député ». (paragraphe 86(1))

Le Code prévoit des règles pour éviter les conflits d’intérêts, des processus pour la communication confidentielle des intérêts personnels au commissaire, des procédures pour publier les déclarations sommaires des députés, un rôle consultatif pour le commissaire ainsi qu’un processus pour la conduite des enquêtes sur les infractions présumées aux règles par les députés.

Le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre a le mandat d’examiner toute question relative au Code et de présenter des rapports à ce sujet. Le commissaire Mario Dion rencontre le Comité à l’occasion pour discuter de questions touchant l’administration du Code.


Date de modification :