Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

What Is a Conflict of Interest?

The concept of conflict of interest is at the heart of the regimes that Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner Mario Dion administers.

Section 4 of the Conflict of Interest Act defines a conflict of interest as follows:

4. For the purposes of this Act, a public office holder is in a conflict of interest when he or she exercises an official power, duty or function that provides an opportunity to further his or private interests or those of his or her relatives or friends or to improperly further another person’s private interests.

The meaning is similar in the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons:

8. When performing parliamentary duties and functions, a Member shall not act in any way to further his or her private interests or those of a member of the Member’s family, or to improperly further another person’s or entity’s private interests.

The concept of conflict of interest, in turn, rests on the concept of private interests.

The Code states that “furthering a private interest" includes actions that result, directly or indirectly, in an increase in, or the preservation of, the value of assets, the extinguishment, or reduction in the amount, of liabilities, an increase in income, the acquisition of a financial interest, becoming a director or officer in a corporation, association or trade union, or becoming a partner in a partnership. In applying the Act, the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner has interpreted “private interest" as relating to financial or business matters similar to those listed in the Code.

Historically, our Office adopted a narrow interpretation of what constitutes a private interest. Although it did not expressly exclude certain types of interests, it confined private interests largely to those of a financial nature.

In fact, as Commissioner Dion noted in the Trudeau II Report, private interests can take many forms, including financial, social or political.

Under both regimes, "private interest" does not include an interest in a decision or matter that is of general application, that affects the public office holder or Member as one of a broad class of persons, or that concerns the salary or benefits received by virtue of being a public office holder or Member. Under the Code, a matter that consists of being a party to a legal action relating to actions of the Member as a Member of Parliament is also not considered a private interest.


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Qu’est-ce qu’un conflit d’intérêts?

Le concept de « conflit d’intérêts » est au cœur des régimes qu’applique le commissaire Mario Dion.

L’article 4 de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts définit un conflit d’intérêts ainsi :

4. Pour l’application de la présente loi, un titulaire de charge publique se trouve en situation de conflit d’intérêts lorsqu’il exerce un pouvoir officiel ou une fonction officielle qui lui fournit la possibilité de favoriser son intérêt personnel ou celui d’un parent ou d’un ami ou de favoriser de façon irrégulière celui de toute autre personne.

Le terme a une signification analogue dans le Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des députés :

8. Le député ne peut, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions parlementaires, agir de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels ou ceux d’un membre de sa famille ou encore, d’une façon indue, ceux de toute autre personne ou entité.

Le concept de conflit d’intérêts repose, à son tour, sur le concept des intérêts personnels.

Selon le Code, favoriser les intérêts personnels comprend des actes qui ont pour effet, même indirectement, d’augmenter ou de préserver la valeur d’un actif, de réduire la valeur d’un passif ou d’éliminer celui-ci, de procurer un intérêt financier, d’augmenter le revenu, de devenir un dirigeant ou un administrateur au sein d’une personne morale, d’une association ou d’un syndicat, ou de devenir un associé dans une société de personnes. En appliquant la Loi, le Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique a interprété « intérêts personnels » comme se rapportant aux questions financières et d’affaires similaires à celles établies dans le Code.

Traditionnellement, le Commissariat interprète la définition d’« intérêt personnel » de façon étroite. Même s’il n’exclut pas expressément certains types d’intérêts, il limite généralement les intérêts personnels aux intérêts de nature financière.

En fait, comme le commissaire Dion a constaté dans le Rapport Trudeau II, les intérêts personnels peuvent prendre différentes formes. Ils peuvent être de nature financière, sociale, politique ou autre.

En vertu des deux régimes, « intérêt personnel » ne comprend pas un intérêt dans une décision ou question qui est d’application générale, qui concerne le titulaire de charge publique ou le député en tant que membre d’une vaste catégorie de personnes, ou qui a trait à la rémunération ou aux avantages accordés à celui-ci au titre d’une loi fédérale. En vertu du Code, les intérêts personnels ne comprennent pas non plus ceux qui ont trait au fait d’être partie à une action en justice relative à des actes posés par le député dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.


Date de modification :