Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Compliance with the Code – Summary of Your Obligations as a Member of the House of Commons

​​​PDF​​ Version


This do​cument is intended to provide a summary of your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons. Members are encouraged to contact the Office for confidential advice about their individual situation. Please call 613­995-0721 or email ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

The primary purpose of the Code is to maintain and enhance public confidence and trust in the integrity of Members as well as the respect and confidence that society places in the House of Commons as an institution. As a Member of the House of Commons, you are required to comply with the Code.

Members who are ministers or parliamentary secretaries must also comply with the rules and measures of the Conflict of Interest Act.


1. What are the general rules​​ of conduct in the Code?

When performing parliamentary duties or functions, you are prohibited from a​cting in any way that would further your private interests or those of a member of your family,[i] or that would improperly further another person or entity’s private ​​interests.[ii]

You are also prohibited from using your public office to influence a​ decision,[iii] and from using or communicating insider infor​mation[iv] to further your private interests or those of a family member or to improperly further another person or entity’s private interests.

You are also prohibited from attempting to engage in any of th​​ese activities.[v]

2. How is a private interest defined in the Code?

While there is no definition of private interest, th​e Code identifies certain circumstances where you may be considered to further a person’s private interests, including your own. You are considered to further a private interest if your actions result, directly or indirectly, in any of the following:

  • an increase in, or the preservation of, the value of the person's assets;

  • the extinguishment, or reduction in the amount, of the person's liabilities;

  • the acquisition of a financial interest by the person;

  • an increase in the person's income from employment, a contract, a business or a profession;

  • the person becoming a director or officer in a corporation, association or trade union; or

  • the person becoming a partner in a partn​ership.​

A private interest would not be considered to be furthered when the matter in question is of general application, affects the person as one of a broad class of the public, consists of being a party to a legal action relating to your actions as a Member, or concerns your remuneration or benefits as provided under an Act of ​Parliament.

3. What information am I r​equired to disclose?

Your initial compliance process begins when your name is published in the Canada Gazette after your election to the House of Commons.

You have 60 days from that day to provide the Commissioner with a full confidential statement of your assets, liabilities, activities and other private inte​​rests, as well as those of the members of your family.[vi] The Disclosure Statement for Members and Their Family Members (Disclosure Statement) form is available on the Office’s website.​

The Code specifies that your Disclosure Statement must:

  • identify and state the value of each of your assets or liabilities and those of your family that exceed $10,000;

  • state the amount and source of any income greater than $1,000 that you and your family received during the previous 12 months or that you will receive during the next 12 months;

  • disclose any trust known to you from which you could directly or indirectly derive a benefit or income;

  • state all benefits that you and the members of your family, and any private corporation in which you or a member of your family have an interest, have received in the preceding 12 months or are entitled to receive in the next 12 months as a result of being party, directly or through a subcontract, to a contract with the Government of Canada;

  • include additional information about any private corporations mentioned;

  • list the directorships or of​fices in corporations, trade or professional associations, or trade unions held by you or a member of your family; and

  • include any other information that the Commissioner may require.[vii]

It is possible that the Commissioner may require a meeting with you and your family members to ensure that adequate disclosure has been made and to discuss your obligations under the Code.​[viii]

4. What inform​ation is made public?

You are required to publicly disclose certain information. Our Of​​fice will prepare a Disclosure Summary based on the information contained in your Disclosure Statement and provide it to you. You will then have 60 days to review and approve the Disclosure Summary[ix] after which, it will be​ made public.​

The Disclosure Summary contains details of the following:

  • the source and nature, but not the value, of the income, assets and liabilities listed in your Disclosure Statement that are valued at $10,000 or more and that are not excluded[x] by another provision of the Code;

  • ​the subject matter and nature of any Government of Canada contract or subcontract from which you or a member of your family derives a benefit;

  • the list of names of any affiliated corporations;

  • all directorships or offices in a corporation, trade or professional association or trade union held by you or a member of your family and all partnerships in which you or a member of your family are a partner; and

  • any trusts from which you may, currently or in the future, either directly or indirectly, derive a benefit or income.​[xi]

Once you have approved the Disclosure Summary, it is placed in the public registry, which is accessible through the Office’s w​​ebsite.​[xii]

5. What is a material ch​​ange to my information?

A change is material when it leads to a change in your Disclosure Statement. For instance, a change in marital status, a new​​ income greater than $1,000, or the acquisition or extinguishment of an asset or a liability that exceeds $10,000 will result in a material change to your Disclosure Statement. A change in the value of an asset or a liability above or below the $10,000 threshold also constitutes a material change. Whenever there is a material change to the information in your Disclosure Statement, you are required to disclose it to the Commissioner within 60 days after the change.​[xiii]

A material change generally includes any change that requires the preparation of a new Disclosure Summary that is publicly declared.

Please contact your advisor to file your Notice of Material Change. They will advise you whether the change requires a public declaration.

6. When is the in​formation reviewed?

You are required to provide a full Disclosure Statement annually.​[xiv] The Office will contact you to launch the process. The Code provides that you have 60 days to complete the review.

7. What oth​er rules must I follow?

To remain in compliance with the Code, you must also observe the following rules throughout your mandate:​

a)    Privat​​e interest:

You are prohibited from participating in debate and from voting on a question in which you hav​​e a private interest.​[xv]

If you are present during a discussion in the House or in committee of a matter that might affect your private interests, you are required to disclose, orally or in writing, the general nature of the interest.​[xvi] In addition, you must also disclose the general nature in writing as soon as possible to the Clerk of the House. The Clerk will include the disclosure in the Journals and send it to the Commissioner who will incl​ude it in the​ public registry.

In any other circumstance that involves your parliamentary duties and functions, when a discussion may affect your private interests you must recuse yourself, disclose your private interest as soon as possible to the party concerned and file a notice in writing with the Commissioner.​[xvii]

b)    Gifts or other​​ benefits:

You and members of your family are prohibited from ac​​cepting gifts or other benefits​[xviii] that might reasonably be ​seen to have been given to influence you in the exercise of your d​​uties and functions of your office. There is an exception for gifts or other benefits received as a normal expression of courtesy or protocol or that are within the customary standards of hospitality that normally accompany a Member’s position.​[xix]

When you accept a gift or other benefit, or a series of gifts from one source in a 12-month period, with a value of $200 or more, you must publicly disclose your acceptance within 60 days. Such declarations can be done via the Por​​tal, by filling out a​ Public Statement of Gifts or Other Benefits form, or by contacting your ​advisor.​

You may also wish to read advisory opinions on the subject of gifts or other benefits published by the Commissioner.[xx]

c)    Sponsored tr​avel:

You may accept sponsored travel that arises from or is related to your position.

When the travel costs exceed $200 and are not wholly paid from the Consolidated Revenue Fund or by you, your political party or any parliamentary association recogni​zed by the House, you must file a​ statement with the Office disclosing the trip within 60 days of your return. A​ Public Statement of Sponsored Travel by Members form is available o​n our website. The information will be added to the public registry and included in the list of sponsored travel that the Commissioner is required to table in the House each fiscal year.​[xxi]

d)    Govern​ment contracts:

You are prohibited from being a party to a contract with the Government of Canada, or any federal agency or b​​ody under which you receive a benefit. You are also prohibited from having an interest in a partnership or in a private corporation that holds such a contract. An exception may be made if the Commissioner believes that the contract or interest is unlikely to affect your obligations under the Code.​[xxii]

You can hold securities in a public corp​​oration that contracts with the government unless the Commissioner believes that the size of the holdings is so significant that it is likely to affect your obligations under the Code. In such cases, you would be required to sell the securities or place them in a trust.​[xxiii]

8. How are these r​ules enforced?

The Commissioner may investigate possible contraventions of the Code in the following cases:

  • on req​uest of a Me​mber of the House of Commons who sets out reasonable ground to believe that another Member has contravened the Code;

  • at the direction of the House of C​​ommons; or

  • on the Commissioner's own initiati​ve if the Commissioner has reasonable grounds to believe that a Member has contravened the Code.

If the Commissioner finds in an inquiry that the Code has been contravened, the Commissioner may recommend appropriate sanctions in the inquiry report.​

All inquiry reports are made public and posted on our website.


​ [i] Subsection 3(4) of the Code defines family members as:

(a) the Member's spouse or common-law partner; and
(b) a son or daughter of the Member, or a son or daughter of the Member's spouse or common-law partner, who has not reached the age of 18 years or who has reached that age but is primarily dependent on the Member or the Member's spouse or common-law partner for financial support.

[​ii] See section 8 of the Code.

[iii] See section 9 of the Code.

[iv] See section 10 of the Code.

[v] See section 11 of the Code.

[vi] The Commissioner may extend this period upon receipt of a reasonable request to do so. See section 20 of the Code.

[vii] See section 21 of the Code.

[viii] See section 22 of the Code.

[ix] The Commissioner may extend this period upon receipt of a reasonable request to do so. See section 23 of the Code.

[x] See subsection 24(3) of the Code.

[xi] See section 24 of the Code.

[xii] See subsection 23(2) of the Code.

[xiii] See subsection 21(3) of the Code.

[xiv] See section 20 of the Code.

[xv] See section 13 of the Code.

[xvi] See section 12 of the Code.

[xvii] See subsection 12(4) of the Code.

[xviii] Subsection 3(1) of the Code defines a benefit as:
(a) an amount of money if there is no obligation to repay it; and
(b) a service or prope​rty, or the use of property or money that is provided without charge or at less than its commercial value, other than a service provided by a volunteer working on behalf of a Member.

[xix] See section 14 of the Code.

[xx] See subsection 26(4) of the Code.

[xxi] See section 15 of the Code.

[xxii] See section 16 of the Code.

[xxiii] See section 17 of the Code.​


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Respect du Code – Résumé de vos obligations en tant que députée ou député

​​​​​Version P​DF​


Ce document a pour but de résumer vos obligations en vertu du Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés. Pour tout conseil confidentiel propre à leur situation, nous invitons les députées et députés à communiquer avec le Commissariat au 613‑995‑0721 ou à ciec­ccie@parl.gc.ca.

Le Code a principalement pour objet de préserver et d'accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité des députées et députés ainsi que le respect et la confiance de la société envers la Chambre des communes en tant qu'institution. À titre de députée ou député, vous devez respecter le Code.

Les députées et députés qui sont ministres ou secrétaires parlementaires doivent aussi respecter les règles et les mesures de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts.


1. Quelles sont les​ règles générales de conduite dans le Code?

Dans l’exercice de vos fonctions parlementaires, vous ne pouvez pas agir de façon à favoriser vos intérêts personnels ou ceux des membres de v​​​otre famille[i] ou encore, d’une façon indue, ceux de toute autre personne ou entité[ii].

Vous ne pouvez pas vous prévaloir de votre charge pour influencer une décision[iii], ni utiliser ou communiquer les renseignements que vous obtenez dans le cadre de votre charge[iv] pour favoriser vos intérêts personnels ou ceux des membres de votre famille ou encore, d'une façon indue, ceux de toute autre personne ou entité.

Vous ne pouvez non plus tenter de vous livrer à l'une ou l'autre de ces activités​[v].

2. Comment les i​​ntérêts personnels sont‑ils définis dans le Code?

Le Code ne donne aucune définition d'intérêts personnels, mais il précise certaines circonstances dans lesquelles on pourrait juger que vous favorisez les intérêts personnels d'une personne, y compris les vôtres. Vos actes sont de nature à favoriser des intérêts personnels s'ils ont pour effet, même indirectement :

  • d'augmenter ou de p​réserver la valeur de l'actif de la personne;

  • de réduire la valeur du passif de la ​​personne ou d'éliminer celui‑ci;

  • de procurer un intérêt financier à​​ la personne;

  • d'augmenter le revenu de la personn​e à partir d'un emploi, d'un contrat, d'une entreprise ou d'une profession;

  • de faire de la personne une dirigeante ou un dirigeant ou une administratrice ou administrateur au sein d'une personne morale, d'une association ou d'un syndicat;

  • de faire de la personne une associée ou un associé au sein d'une société de personnes.

Ne sont pas considérés comme les intérêt​s personnels des députées ou députés ou d'autres personnes ceux : qui sont d'application générale; qui les concernent en tant que membres d'une vaste catégorie de personnes; qui ont trait au fait d'être partie à une action en justice relative à des actes qu'ils ont posés dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions; ou qui ont trait à la rémunération ou aux avantages qui leur sont accordés au titre d'une loi fédérale.​

3. Quels renseignements doivent ​être divulgués?

Le processus de conformité initiale vous concernant commence lorsque votre nom est publié dans la Gazette du Canada pour annoncer votre élection à la Chambre des communes.

Vous avez alors 60 jours suivant l'annonce pour remettre à la ou au commissaire une déclaration complète de vos éléments d'actif et de passif, de vos activités et de vos autres intérêts personnels, ainsi q​​ue ceux des membres de votre famille​[vi]. Le formulaire de Déclaration des députés et des membres de leur famille (la Déclaration) se trouve sur le site Web du Commissariat.

Le Code précise que votre Déclaration doit contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • vos éléments d'actif et de passif et ceux des membres de votre famille dont la valeur dépasse 10 000 $;

  • le montant et la source de tout revenu de plus de 1 000 $ que vous et les membres de votre famille avez touché au cours des 12 mois précédents ou que vous recevrez au cours des 12 prochains mois;

  • la déclaration de toute fiducie dont vous connaissez l'existence et dont vous pourriez tirer un avantage ou un revenu, directement ou indirectement;

  • tout avantage que vous et les membres de votre famille, ainsi que toute société privée dans laquelle vous ou une ou un membre de votre famille détenez un intérêt, avez reçu au cours des 12 mois précédents ou êtes en droit de recevoir au cours des 12 prochains mois du fait d'être partie, directement ou par voie de sous-contrat, à un contrat conclu avec le gouvernement du Canada;​

  • les renseignements supplémentaires sur les sociétés privées dont vous avez fait mention;

  • les po​stes de dirigeante ou dirigeant ou d'administratrice ou administrateur que vous ou une ou un membre de votre famille occupez au sein d'une personne morale, d'une association commerciale ou professionnelle ou d'un syndicat;

  • tout autre renseignement que la ou le commissaire peu​​t exiger​[vii].

La ou le commissaire peut exiger de vous rencontrer, vous et les membres de votre famille, en vue de vérifier la conformité de la déclaration et d​e discuter de vos obligations aux termes du Code[viii].

4. Quels renseignements s​ont rendus publics?

Vous devez rendre publics certa​​​ins renseignements. Le Commissariat préparera et vous transmettra une Déclaration sommaire à partir des renseignements contenus dans votre Déclaration. Vous aurez alors 60 jours pour examiner et approuver la Déclaration sommaire[ix]. Après cette période, elle sera publiée.

La Déclaration sommaire comporte les éléments suivants : ​

  • ​​une mention de la source et de la nature, mais non de la valeur, du revenu et des éléments d'actif et de passif indiqués dans votre Déclaration dont la valeur est égale ou supérieure à 10 000 $ et qui ne sont pas exclus[1] par une autre disposition du Code;

  • l'objet et la nature de tout contrat ou sous-contrat du gouvernement du Canada dont vous ou une ou un membre de votre famille tirez un avantage;

  • les noms des personnes morales affiliées;

  • les postes de dirigeante ou dirigeant ou d'administratrice ou administrateur que vous ou une ou un membre de votre famille occupez au sein d'une personne morale, d'une association commerciale ou professionnelle ou d'un syndicat, ainsi que les noms des sociétés de personnes dont vous ou une ou un membre de votre famille êtes une associée ou un associé;

  • ​​toute fiducie dont vous pourriez, soit immédiatement, soit à l'avenir, tirer un avantage ou un revenu, directement ou indirectement​[xi].

Lorsque vous aurez approuvé la Déclaration sommaire, celle‑ci sera versée au registre public, qui peut être consulté sur le site Web du C​ommissariat[xii].

5. En quoi consiste un changement imp​ortant à ma déclaration?

On entend par changement important ce qui donne lieu à une modification de votre Déclaration. Le changem​ent d’état civil, un nouveau revenu de plus de 1 000 $, ou l’acquisition ou l’élimination d’un bien ou d’un passif d’une valeur supérieure à 10 000 $ en sont des exemples. Une variation de la valeur d’un bien ou d’un passif au-delà ou en-deçà du seuil de 10 000 $ constitue aussi un changement important. Lorsqu’il y a des changements importants par rapport aux renseignements de votre Déclaration, vous devez en faire état à la ou au commissaire dans les 60 jours suivant les changements[xiii].

Un changement important comprend généralement tout changement exigeant la préparation d'une nouvelle Déclaration sommaire qui est rendue publique.

Pour déposer votre Déclaration de changement important, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseillère ou conseiller, qui vous dira aussi si le changement exige une déclaration publique.

6. Quand l'i​​nformation fait‑elle l'objet d'un examen?

Vous devez soumettre une Déclaration complète chaque année[xiv]. Le Commissariat com​muniquera avec vous pour lancer le processus. Selon le Code, vous avez 60 jours pour faire l’examen.

7. Quelles sont les ​​autres règles à suivre?

Pour demeurer en conformité avec le Code, vous devez aussi observer les règles suivantes tout au long de votre mandat :

a)    Intérêts pers​​onnels

Vous ne pouvez pas participer à un débat ou voter su​r une question dans laquelle vous avez des intérêts personnels[xv].

Lorsque vous participez, en Chambre ou en comité, à une discussion portant sur une question qui pourrait toucher vos intérêts personnels, vous devez divulguer, verbalement ou par écrit, la nature ​générale de ces intérêts[xvi]​Vous devez aussi en divulguer la nature, le plus tôt possible, au greffier de la Chambre. Le greffier publiera l’information divulguée dans les Journaux et la transmettra à la ou au commissaire, qui l’inscrira d​​ans le registre public.

Dans tout autre cas mettant en cause vos fonctions parlementaires, lorsqu’une discussion pourrait viser vos intérêts personnels, vous devez vous récuser, divulguer vos intérêts personnels dans les plus brefs délais à la partie concernée et donner un avis écrit à la ou au commissaire[xvii].

b)    Cadeaux ou autre​​​s avantages

Les membres de votre famille et vous-même ne pouvez pas accepter de cadeaux ou d’autres av​antages[xviii] qui pourraient raisonnablement donner à penser qu’ils ont été donnés pour vous influencer dans l’exercice de vos fonctions. Il existe une exception touchant les cadeaux ou autres avantages qui sont des marques normales ou habituelles de courtoisie ou de protocole ou des marques d’accueil habituellement reçues dans le cadre de la charge d’une députée ou d’un député​​[xix].

Si vous acceptez un cadeau ou un autre avantage, ou encore une série de cadeaux de même provenance sur une période de 12 ​mois, ayant une valeur de 200 $ ou plus, vous devez le déclarer publiquement dans les 60 jours. Cette déclaration peut être faite par l’entremise du Portail, en remplissant le formulaire de​​ Déclaration publique de cadeaux ou autres avantages ou en com​muniquant avec votre conseillère ou conseiller.

Vous pouvez aussi consulter les avis consultatifs de la ou​​ du commissaire sur les cadeaux et autres avantages[xx]. ​

c)    Déplacements par​rainés

Vous pouvez accepter des déplacements parrainés liés à votre charge ou découlant de celle‑ci.

Si les frais de déplacement dépassent 200 $ et ne sont pas entièrement pris en charge par le Trésor, vous-même, votre parti ou une association parlementaire reconnue par la Chambre, vous devez déposer auprès de la ou du commissaire une déclaration faisant état du déplacement dans les 60 jours qui en suivent la fin. Le formulaire de Déclaration publique de déplacements parrainés se trouve​ sur notre site Web. L’information sera inscrite au registre public et ajoutée à la liste des déplacements parrainés que la ou le commissaire doit déposer à la Chambre à chaque exercice financier[xxi].

d)    Contrats ​​gouvernementaux

Vous ne pouvez pas être partie à un contrat conclu avec le gouvernement du Canada ou un organisme fédéral qui vous procure un avantage. Vous ne pouvez pas, non plus, détenir un intérêt dans une société de personnes ou une société privée qui est partie à un contrat de ce genre. Une exception peut être faite si la ou le commissaire estime que vous ne risquez pas de manquer à vos obligations aux termes du Code en raison de ce contrat ou de cet intérêt[xxii].

Vous pouvez posséder des titres dans une société publique ayant des liens d’aff​aires avec le gouvernement du Canada, sauf si la ou le commissaire estime, en raison de la quantité de ces titres, que vous pourriez manquer à vos obligations aux termes du Code. Il vous faudra alors vendre ces titres ou les mettre en fiducie[xxiii].

8. Que fait-on pour assurer l'ap​plication de ces règles?

La ou le commissaire peut faire enquête sur de possibles contraventions au Code dans les cas suivants :

  • à la​ demande d'une députée ou d'un député ayant des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une autre députée ou un autre député a contrevenu au Code;

  • à la demande de la Cha​​mbre des communes;

  • de sa propre initiative, si la ou le commissaire a de​s motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une députée ou un député a contrevenu au Code.

Si la ou le commissaire conclut au terme d'une enquête qu'il y a eu contravention au Code, des sanctions peuvent être recommandées dans son rapport d'enquête.

Tous les rapports d'enquête doivent être rendus publics et publiés sur notre site Web.​


[i​] Selon le paragraphe 3(4) du Code, sont considérés comme des membres de la famille d'une députée ou d'un député :

a) son époux ou conjoint de fait;
b) ses fils ​ou ses filles, les fils et les filles de son époux ou conjoint de fait, qui n’ont pas atteint l’âge de dix‑huit ans ou qui, l’ayant atteint, dépendent principalement, sur le plan financier, du député ou de son époux ou conjoint de fait.

[ii] Voir l'article 8 du Code.

[iii] Voir l'article 9 du Code.

[iv] Voir l'article 10 du Code.

[v] Voir l'article 11 du Code.

[vi] La ou le commissaire peut prolonger cette période si on lui fait une demande raisonnable en ce sens. Voir l’​article 20 du Code.

[vii] Voir l'article 21 du Code.

[viii] Voir l'article 22 du Code.

[ix] La ou le commissaire peut prolonger cette période si on lui fait une demande raisonnable en c​​e sens. ​Voir l'article 23 du Code.

[x] Voir le paragraphe 24(3) du Code.

[xi] Voir l'article 24 du Code.

[xii] Voir le paragraphe 23(2) du Code.

[xiii] Voir le paragraphe 21(3) du Code.

[xiv] Voir l'article 20 du Code.

[xv] Voir l'article 13 du Code.

[xvi] Voir l'article 12 du Code.

[xvii] Voir paragraphe 12(4) du Code.

[xviii] Selon le paragraphe 3(1) du Code, « avantage » s'entend :
a) de toute somme, si son remboursement n'est pas obligatoire;
b) de tout service ou de tout bien ou de l'usage d'un bien ou d'argent, s'ils sont fournis sans frais ou à un prix inférieur à leur valeur commerciale, autre qu'un service fourni par un bénévole travaillant pour le compte d'un député.

[xix] Voir l'article 14 du Code.

[xx] Voir le paragraphe 26(4) du Code.

[xxi] Voir l'article 15 du Code.

[xxii] Voir l'article 16 du Code.

[xxiii] Voir l'article 17 du Code.


Date de modification :