Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

History

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Downward arrows representing chronology starting pre-1900 to present.​​​​​​
T

The Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner began operating in its current form in July 2007, when the Conflict of Interest Act came into force. The Act was part of the 2006 Federal Accountability Act.

The Office has several predecessors. Please click on the following ​link for information about previous offices​.

​Read about the development of Canada’s federal conflict of interest regimes and their administration in this chronology. You can access the detailed​ information it contains by clicking on the boxes below that identify various time periods. You can also download the entire chronology by clicking on the PDF​ link.

​The chronology brings together information from a range of sources. Please click on the following link to view selected references​.

​​​​
​​

​Chronology​

​​  PRE​-​​1900s​​​​

The ​S​​​tan​ding Orders​​ established after Confederation prohibit Members of the House of Commons from voting on questions in which they have a direct pecuniary inter​est.​​​


​  1900-1969

​​Questions are raised regarding votes by Members on matters in which they have a pecuniary interest. Prime Minister Lester Pearson writes ministers about a code of ethics and Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau urges ministers to give up directorships in commercial entities.​


​​​​​​​  1970s​​​​​

Conflict of interest guidelines for ministers are developed; they are further strengthened by Prime Minister Joe Clark. The first registry of Cabinet ministers’ financial holdings is opened for public inspection. The Office of Assistant Deputy Registrar General (ADRG) is created; David Taylor is appointed Canada’s first federal conflict of interest administrator.​​

​​​

  1980s

​​A task force on conflict of interest is appointed. In response to its report, Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau extends conflict of interest guidelines for min​isters to their families. Prime Minister Brian Mulroney establishes the Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment Code for Public Office Holders. The Clerk of the House of Commons is required to maintain a registry of sponsored travel by Members.​

​​​

​​​​​​​​​  1990s
​​Howard Wilson is appointed the first Ethics Counsellor in charge of lobbying and conflict of interest, replacing the ADRG. An Auditor General's report looks at Ethics and Fraud Awareness in Government and Parliament sets up a joint committee to develop a code of conduct. The Office of Public Service Values and Ethics is established. ​​
​​

  2000-2005​​

​​​T​he Auditor General recommends that parliamentarians revisit the issue of conflict of interest and a code of conduct. The Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons is adopted. It is administered by Dr. Bernard Shapiro, appointed to the new position of Ethics Commissioner. 

​​​

​​​  2006​-2010​The Conflict of Interest Act is passed as part of the Federal Accountability Act under Prime Minister Stephen Harper; it replaces the Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment ​Code for Public Office Holders. The Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner is created and Mary Dawson is named the first Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner.​
​​

​​​  2011-2018
​​The Conflict of Interest Act and the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons are reviewed by parliamentary committees. Reflecting the conflict of interest regimes' application to even the most senior government officials, the Office investigates the Prime Minister under both the Act and the Code and releases a public investigation report.
​​​

​​​  20​19-PRESENT

​Mario Dion is appointed the second Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner.

The Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is the subject of two more examination reports released by the Office. A parliamentary committee studies the events surrounding the matter investigated in one of those reports.

​ ​


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Histoire du Commissariat

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Downward arrows representing chronology starting pre-1900 to present.​​​​

Le Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique fonctionne dans sa forme actuelle depuis juillet 2007, quand la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts est entrée en vigueur. Cette loi a été adoptée en 2006 en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

Le Commissariat a plusieurs prédécesseurs. Veuillez cliquer sur le lien qui suit pour vous renseigner concernant des bureaux précédents.​

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de l'évolution des régimes en matière de conflits d'intérêts et de leur administration, consultez la chronologie. Vous pouvez accéder aux détails qu'elle contient en cliquant sur les cases ci-dessous qui désignent les différentes époques. Vous pouvez également télécharger la chronologie complète en cliquant sur le lien PDF​.

La chronologie rassemble des renseignements provenant de diverses sources. Veuillez cliquer sur le lien qui suit pour consulter des références choisies.​

​​​​
​​

​Chronologie​

​​  AVANT ​​1​​​​9​00​​​​

Le Règlement de la Chambre des communes établi après la Confédération interdit aux députés de voter sur des questions pour lesquelles ils ont un intérêt pécuniaire direct.​


​  1900-1969

​Des questions sont soulevées concernant les votes des députés sur des questions dans lesquelles ils ont un intérêt pécuniaire. Le premier ministre Lester Pearson écrit aux ministres au sujet d’un code d’éthique, et le premier ministre Pierre Trudeau exhorte les ministres à renoncer à leurs postes d’administrateurs dans des entités commerciales.



​​​​​​​  ANNÉES 1970​​​​​

​Élaboration de directives sur les conflits d’intérêts pour les ministres, qui seront bonifiées par le premier ministre Joe Clark. Ouverture au public du premier registre des actifs financiers des ministres. Création du Bureau du sous-registraire général adjoint du Canada; David Taylor devient le premier administrateur fédéral des conflits d’intérêts au Canada.

​​​

​  ANNÉES 1980

Création d’un groupe de travail sur les conflits d’intérêts. En réponse au rapport de ce groupe de travail, le premier ministre Pierre Trudeau élargit l’application des directives sur les conflits d’intérêts des ministres aux membres de leur famille. Le premier ministre Brian Mulroney crée le Code régissant la conduite des titulaires de charge publique en ce qui concerne les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat. Le greffier de la Chambre des communes est tenu de tenir un registre des déplacements parrainés des députés. 

​​​

​​​​​​​​​  ANNÉES 1990

Howard Wilson devient le premier conseiller en éthique responsable du lobbying et des conflits d’intérêts; il remplace ainsi le sous-registraire général adjoint. Un rapport du Bureau du vérificateur général se penche sur la sensibilisation à l’éthique et à la fraude au sein du gouvernement et le Parlement met en place un comité mixte chargé d’élaborer un code de conduite. Création du Bureau des valeurs et de l’éthique de la fonction publique.

​​

  2000-2005​​

Le Bureau du vérificateur général recommande aux parlementaires de réexaminer la question des conflits d’intérêts et d’adopter un code de conduite. Adoption du Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des députés de la Chambre des communes, appliqué par Bernard Shapiro, nouvellement nommé commissaire à l’éthique. 

​​​

​​​  2006-2010

​Adoption de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur responsabilité du premier ministre Stephen Harper; elle remplace le Code régissant la conduite des titulaires de charge publique en ce qui concerne les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat. Création du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique; Mary Dawson devient la première commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

​​

​​​  2011-2018

​​Examen de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts et du Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des députés par des comités parlementaires. Témoignant de l’application des régimes de conflits d’intérêts même aux plus hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement, le Commissariat enquête sur le premier ministre en vertu de la Loi et du Code et publie un rapport d’enquête public.

​​​

​​​  DEPUIS 2019

​​Mario Dion devient le deuxième commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique de l'histoire.

Le premier ministre Justin Trudeau fait l'objet de deux autres rapports d'étude publiés par le Commissariat. Un comité parlementaire étudie les faits entourant l'affaire faisant l'objet de l'un de ces rapports.​

​​​​​​


Date de modification :