Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

What to expect during an investigation

PDF Version​

The Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s duties in applying the Conflict of Interest Act for public office holders and the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons include investigating alleged contraventions of these regimes.

This information seeks to provide participants in an investigation (called “examinations” under the Act and “inquiries” under the Code) with an idea of what to expect. It focuses on practices common to examinations under the Act and inquiries under the Code, noting differences where relevant.

Nature of Investigations

The primary purpose of examinations and inquiries conducted by the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner is to determine the relevant facts surrounding an alleged breach of the Act or the Code in order to permit the Commissioner to draw conclusions and make appropriate observations or recommendations.

These investigations are not like proceedings before a court or tribunal because the Commissioner does not preside over a dispute between two adverse parties. The Commissioner’s investigations involve gathering and analyzing the relevant information in order to make findings of fact and conclusions. Under the Code, the Commissioner is expressly mandated to make recommendations.

Under the Act, the Commissioner can require witnesses to provide written or oral evidence, under oath, and to produce documents. The Code explicitly requires Members of the House of Commons to cooperate with respect to an inquiry, whether they are the subject of the inquiry or are called as witnesses.

Confidentiality

Examinations and inquiries are conducted in private. The Commissioner and Office staff maintain the confidentiality of information collected during an investigation except as necessary to carry out the investigation or to establish the grounds for the analysis and conclusions in a report.

Subjects and witnesses are asked to keep information confidential. They have a responsibility to help maintain the confidentiality of investigations by not discussing the content of any interviews or written correspondence with anyone other than their counsel, if applicable.

The Commissioner will not normally comment on an investigation other than to confirm that a request to investigate has been received, or that an examination under the Act or a preliminary review or inquiry under the Code has commenced or been completed.

Information for Subjects

The subjects of investigations under the Act or the Code are assured of certain rights.

As neither the Act nor the Code sets out the procedure for conducting investigations, the Commissioner has adopted a process that balances confidentiality obligations, the integrity of the investigation process and procedural fairness. Both the Act and the Code contain provisions that require the Commissioner to provide the subject with a reasonable opportunity to make representations during the investigation.

The subjects of investigations are permitted to have a lawyer or may choose to be assisted or represented by a person of their choice.

Process

When an investigation is initiated, the Commissioner writes to the subject to explain the examination process and sets out the details of the alleged contraventions, providing a copy of the written request for an investigation, if applicable. Under the Code, a preliminary review is required as a first step to determine whether an inquiry is warranted.

Subjects and witnesses may be asked to provide documentary evidence, to present themselves at an interview or to respond to questions by telephone or in writing.

Those being interviewed will be asked to swear an oath. Interviews are recorded and transcripts are made of the proceedings.

The Commissioner generally has two interviews with the subject: one at the outset of the investigation and the second at the end of the fact-finding process. The subject has the right to make representations to the Commissioner, personally or through counsel, at any time during the investigation process.

Finally, the portions of the report that set out the facts determined by the Commissioner are provided to the subject and his or her counsel, if applicable, for review before the report is finalized. They may make representations to the Commissioner, and those recommendations are taken into consideration before the report is finalized.

Information for Counsel

Investigations under the Act and the Code are substantially different from the adversarial processes associated with conventional civil or criminal litigation.

The investigation process does not involve hearings, but fact-finding interviews with the subject of the investigation and witnesses. The Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner is responsible for gathering some of the information required to make the factual determinations that will underpin the Commissioner’s analysis and conclusions. The Commissioner does not make findings of civil or criminal liability, but gathers information to determine the relevant facts in order to make appropriate conclusions as to whether the person who is the subject of the investigation has breached the Act or the Code. The Commissioner’s reports are made public. Under the Code, the Commissioner is expressly mandated to make recommendations in the final reports.

The Office considers that the role of counsel is to assist their clients in presenting their views and to assist the Commissioner in obtaining all the relevant facts in an expeditious manner.

Counsel may accompany their clients to their own interview(s), but counsel does not have the right to be present during the interviews of other witnesses or to cross-examine them.

In order to protect the integrity of the fact-gathering process, counsel representing the subject of an investigation may not also represent a witness in the same investigation.

Counsel may make representations during their client’s interview(s) or in writing during the investigation process.​

 


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

À quoi s'attendre lors d'une enquête

Version PDF​

​Les fonctions du commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique à l’égard de l’application de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts pour les titulaires de charge publique et du Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés consistent entre autres à faire enquête sur les contraventions présumées à ces régimes.

Le présent document vise à donner aux participants à une enquête (appelée « étude » aux termes de la Loi et « enquête » aux termes du Code) un aperçu de ce à quoi ils peuvent s’attendre. Il met l’accent sur les pratiques couramment utilisées dans les études en vertu de la Loi et dans les enquêtes en v​ertu du Code et, le cas échéant, souligne les distinctions.

Nature des enquêtes

Le premier objectif des études et des enquêtes que mène le Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique est d’établir les faits pertinents relatifs à une contravention présumée à la Loi ou au Code des députés afin de permettre au commissaire de tirer des conclusions et de formuler des observations ou des recommandations appropriées.

Ces enquêtes ne s’apparentent pas à des procédures engagées devant un tribunal parce que le commissaire ne peut régler un litige entre deux parties. Aux fins de ses enquêtes, le commissaire recueille et analyse les renseignements pertinents pour établir les faits et tirer des conclusions. Le Code donne expressément au commissaire le mandat de formuler des recommandations.

Aux termes de la Loi, le commissaire peut exiger que les témoins déposent des éléments de preuve oralement ou par écrit, et ce, sous serment, et qu’ils produisent des documents. Le Code exige explicitement que les députés collaborent aux enquêtes, qu’ils soient visés par l’enquête ou appelés à y témoigner.

Confidentialité

Les études et les enquêtes sont menées à huis clos. Le commissaire et le personnel du Commissariat assurent la confidentialité des renseignements recueillis au cours d’une enquête, sauf si leur divulgation est requise pour réaliser l’enquête ou motiver l’analyse et les conclusions dans un rapport.

Les personnes visées et les témoins sont priés de préserver le caractère confidentiel des renseignements. Ils ont la responsabilité d’y veiller en s’abstenant de discuter avec quiconque du contenu de toute entrevue et de toute correspondance écrite, exception faite de leur conseiller juridique, le cas échéant.

Le commissaire ne commente habituellement pas les enquêtes, sauf pour confirmer soit la réception d’une demande d’enquête, soit le commencement ou l’achèvement d’une étude en vertu de la Loi ou d’un examen préliminaire ou d’une enquête en vertu du Code.

Information à l’intention des personnes visées

Les personnes visées par une enquête en vertu de la Loi ou du Code sont assurées de certains droits.

Étant donné que ni la Loi ni le Code n’établissent de procédure pour la conduite des enquêtes, le commissaire a adopté un processus qui tient compte des obligations en matière de confidentialité, de l’intégrité du processus d’enquête et de l’équité en matière de procédure. Tant la Loi que le Code comportent des dispositions exigeant que le commissaire offre à la personne visée une occasion raisonnable de faire valoir ses arguments au cours de l’enquête.

La personne visée par l’enquête peut être représentée par un avocat ou peut choisir d’être appuyée ou représentée par une personne de son choix.

Processus

Lorsqu’une enquête est entreprise, le commissaire écrit à la personne visée pour lui expliquer le processus d’étude, lui indiquer les détails des contraventions présumées et lui fournir une copie de la demande d’enquête écrite, s’il y a lieu. En vertu du Code, un examen préliminaire est requis afin de déterminer si la tenue d’une enquête est justifiée.

La personne visée et les témoins peuvent devoir produire de la preuve documentaire, se présenter à une entrevue ou répondre à des questions par téléphone ou par écrit.

Les personnes qui participent à une entrevue seront demandées de prêter serment. Les entrevues sont enregistrées et font l’objet de transcriptions.

Le commissaire réalise habituellement deux entrevues avec la personne visée par l’enquête : une au début de l’enquête et l’autre au terme du processus de recherche des faits. La personne visée a le droit de faire valoir ses arguments à la commissaire soit personnellement, soit par l’intermédiaire d’un conseiller juridique, et ce, en tout temps pendant le processus d’enquête.

Enfin, les parties du rapport dans lesquelles sont présentés les faits établis par le commissaire sont transmises à la personne visée et à son conseiller juridique, le cas échéant, pour examen avant que le rapport ne soit finalisé. Ils peuvent présenter leurs observations au commissaire, qui en tiendra compte avant de terminer son rapport.

Information à l’intention du conseiller juridique

Les enquêtes en vertu de la Loi et du Code diffèrent substantiellement des processus accusatoires associés aux instances civiles ou criminelles classiques.

Le processus d’enquête ne comporte pas d’audiences, mais plutôt des entrevues de recherche des faits avec la personne visée par l’enquête et des témoins. Le Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique a la responsabilité de recueillir certains des renseignements requis afin d’établir les faits qui sous-tendront l’analyse et les conclusions du commissaire. Le commissaire ne formule pas des conclusions sur le plan de la responsabilité civile ou criminelle; il recueille plutôt des renseignements afin d’établir les faits pertinents qui lui permettront de déterminer si la personne visée par l’enquête a contrevenu à la Loi ou au Code. Les rapports du commissaire sont rendus publics. Aux termes du Code, le commissaire est expressément tenue de formuler des recommandations dans ses rapports finaux.

Le Commissariat considère que le rôle du conseiller juridique est d’aider son client à faire valoir ses arguments et d’aider le commissaire à obtenir tous les faits pertinents dans les meilleurs délais.

Le conseiller juridique peut accompagner son client à ses entrevues, mais il ne peut assister aux entrevues des autres témoins ni les contre-interroger.

Afin de protéger l’intégrité du processus de recherche des faits, le conseiller juridique de la personne visée par une enquête ne peut aussi représenter un témoin dans la même enquête.

Le conseiller juridique peut faire valoir des arguments au cours des entrevues de son client; il peut aussi le faire par écrit au cours du processus d’enquête.

 


Date de modification :