Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Serving your constituents and complying with the Act when you are a minister, minister of state or parliamentary secretary

​​​​PDF Version


 

This document is intended to provide general information about your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act. It must be read in conjunction with other relevant information notices. Public office holders are encouraged to contact the Office for confidential advice about their individual situation. Please call 613-995-0721 or email ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

The legitimacy of constituency activities is explicitly recognized in both the Act and the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons, but the Act, in particular, places limitations on such activities. 

The following will provide you with guidance on how you and your staff can serve your constituents while respecting your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act.


 

Source:  Section 4, section 6, section 7, section 9 and section 64 of the Conflict of Interest Act

1. What is required by Conflict of Interest Act?

You are prohibited from exercising an official power, duty or function that would further your private interests, those of your relatives or friends, or improperly further another person's private interests, regardless of whether that person is your constituent.

You must not give any person or organization preferential treatment[i]. The term "preferential treatment" is not defined in the Act, but the Commissioner has interpreted it to mean "treatment more favourable than might be accorded to anyone else in similar circumstances."

You are also prohibited from using your position to seek to influence a decision to further your private interests, those of your relatives or friends, or to improperly further another person's private interests.

2. Government decisions and your constituency

When the government makes decisions on matters that could have a general impact on the constituents in your riding[ii], you may speak about these matters or make representations to the appropriate minister.

Before doing so, consider whether your involvement could provide an opportunity to improperly further the private interests of any other person. Ask yourself whether you or your relatives or friends have a private interest that could be furthered by your involvement.

If you have any doubts or questions, please contact your advisor.

3. Constituents' dealings with federal organizations

You and your constituency staff are limited to seeking factual information from federal organizations when asked by constituents for assistance in dealing with federal organizations that administer programs in areas such as, but not limited to, immigration, employment insurance, passports and taxation. For example, a constituent may ask for help obtaining information on the status of a case, the timing of a hearing or the information a constituent should submit.

You or your constituency staff may also use regular channels open to any Member's staff to contact federal government institutions, including Crown corporations, to obtain information to assist constituents when they ask you to clarify questions related to government policy, legislation or regulations, or to obtain information on programs and the processing of applications, including the status of specific applications.

However, you are prohibited from using your position as a minister, minister of state or parliamentary secretary to seek to influence the outcome of any process. You and your staff must not:

  • ask for a favourable decision or to have a case resolved on a priority basis;

  • treat your own constituents more favourably than those in other constituencies;

  • approach your own department or an organization within your portfolio on behalf of your own constituents or on behalf of the constituents of a cabinet colleague;

  • seek to influence outcomes or obtain preferential treatment from a cabinet colleague.

4. Decisions of federal administrative tribunals

Administrative tribunals are bodies established by statute to decide various quasi-judicial issues. Examples include the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission, the Parole Board of Canada, and the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.

You and your staff may assist constituents by explaining an administrative tribunal's processes or by providing them with relevant contact information.

However, you must not under any circumstances attempt to intervene in the decision-making process of an administrative tribunal on behalf of any constituent in any riding, or to expedite the processing of an application. Such contact may be considered an attempt to influence a decision, which is a breach of section 9 of the Act.[iii]

5. Support for federal funding applications

As a general rule, you may provide letters of support for projects in your riding for which federal funding is being requested. You must use your letterhead and title as a Member and not your ministerial letterhead.

However, if the funding is being requested from your own department or from an organization within your portfolio, you may not provide a letter of support or use any other means to favour the funding request.

6. References and other support

You may provide a letter of reference but you must consider whether it is appropriate to do so in your official or personal capacity. A letter of reference should not be a blanket endorsement ("To whom it may concern"), but should be addressed to a specific individual or organization for a specific matter in order to prevent the letter from being used for purposes other than that for which it has been provided.

When providing a reference based on a personal relationship (e.g. relative, friend, classmate, neighbour, member of a group to which one belongs), it is not appropriate to use official ministerial, parliamentary secretary or MP letterhead and titles, except for any honorific title that one is entitled to use (e.g. the Honourable John Smith).

In order to provide character and employment references in your official capacity, you must be personally acquainted with the individual on whose behalf the request was made. If a reference is for a former employee or volunteer, or for an acquaintance, made in the context of your role as a Member, minister or parliamentary secretary, it is appropriate for you to use official ministerial, parliamentary secretary or MP letterhead and titles, whichever is applicable.

In order to respect the merit principle, if a job applicant is seeking employment in a federal department or agency, ministers and parliamentary secretaries may not write to a departmental, Crown corporation, or agency official to support that applicant or regarding any other matter dealing with the staffing or appeal processes, or with a grievance process under the Public Service Labour Relations Act. They may, however, agree to have their name listed in the "personal reference" section of the individual's curriculum vitae with a view to providing a reference upon request.

Appointments by ministers are excluded from the Public Service Employment Act. In the case of an appointment made by another minister, a letter of recommendation may be sent by ministers, ministers of state and parliamentary secretaries to the responsible minister. Ministers, ministers of state and parliamentary secretaries may also provide recommendation letters for appointments made by the Governor in Council.

7. If you are still in doubt

Advisors in the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner are available to assist you if you have any doubts about how to respond in individual cases. For more information, please contact the Office by calling 613-995-0721 or emailing ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

8. Related examination reports

 

The Philpott Report
The Gill Report
The Finley Report
The Paradis Report (December 2013)
The Clement Report
The Paradis Report (March 2012)
The Wat​son Report

 


i See, for example, The Finley Report.
ii See, for example, The Paradis Report (December 2013).
iii See for example, The Gill Report, as well as compliance orders for Eve Adams and for Colin Carrie.

​​In this video, Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner Mario Dion provides guidance to ministers and parliamentary secretaries on how to comply with the Conflict of Interest Act while working on behalf of their constituents.

View Transcript​


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Servir ses électeurs et se conformer à la Loi lorsqu'on est ministre, ministre d'État ou secrétaire parlementaire

​​​Version PDF


 

Ce document a pour objet de fournir des renseignements générau​x sur vos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. ​​Il doit être lu conjointement avec d'autres avis d'information pertinents. Pour tout conseil confidentiel propre à leur situation, les titulaires de charge publique sont invités à communiquer avec le Commissariat au 613-995-0721 ou à ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

La légitimité des activités de circonscriptions est explicitement reconnue dans la Loi et dans le Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés, mais la Loi, en particulier, impose des limites sur ces activités.

Le présent document présente des conseils sur la façon dont votre personnel et vous pouvez servir vos électeurs tout en respectant vos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts.


 

Source :  Article 4, article 6, article 7, article 9 et article 64 de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts

1. Que prévoit la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts?

Il vous est interdit d'exercer un pouvoir officiel ou une fonction officielle qui favoriserait votre intérêt personnel, ou celui d'un parent ou d'un ami, ou qui favoriserait de façon irrégulière celui de toute autre personne, que cette personne soit ou non votre électeur.

Vous ne devez accorder aucun traitement de faveur[i] à une personne ou à un organisme. Le terme « traitement de faveur » n'est pas défini dans la Loi, mais selon l'interprétation du commissaire, il renvoie à des « privilèges qui ne sont pas accordés à d'autres personnes dans des circonstances semblables ».

Il vous est également interdit de vous prévaloir de vos fonctions officielles pour tenter d'influencer une décision dans le but de favoriser votre intérêt personnel ou celui d'un parent ou d'un ami, ou de favoriser de façon irrégulière celui de toute autre personne.

2. Les décisions du gouvernement et votre circonscription

Lorsque le gouvernement prend des décisions sur des questions pouvant avoir une incidence générale sur les électeurs de votre circonscription[ii], il est possible d'en discuter avec le ministre compétent ou d'intervenir auprès de lui.

Au préalable, vous devrez déterminer si votre intervention pourrait fournir l'occasion de favoriser de façon irrégulière l'intérêt personnel de toute autre personne. Demandez-vous si l'intérêt personnel d'un parent, d'un ami ou de vous-même pourrait être favorisé par votre intervention.

Si vous avez des doutes ou des questions, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller.

3. Relations entre les électeurs et les organisations fédérales

Vous et le personnel de votre bureau de circonscription devez vous limiter à recueillir de l'information strictement factuelle auprès des organisations fédérales lorsque les électeurs vous demandent de l'aide relativement à leurs démarches auprès d'organismes fédéraux qui administrent des programmes dans des domaines tels que l'immigration, l'assurance-emploi, les passeports et l'impôt. Par exemple, un électeur peut solliciter votre aide pour connaître l'état d'avancement d'un dossier ou la date d'une audience, ou pour savoir quels renseignements soumettre.

Vous et le personnel de votre bureau de circonscription pouvez vous servir des voies de communication habituelles auxquelles n'importe quel membre du personnel d'un député a accès pour communiquer avec les institutions du gouvernement fédéral, y compris les sociétés d'État, pour obtenir des renseignements en vue d'aider les électeurs qui vous demandent des précisions au sujet d'une politique, d'une loi ou d'un règlement du gouvernement, ou pour obtenir de l'information sur des programmes et le traitement de demandes, y compris pour connaître l'état d'avancement d'une demande en particulier.

Toutefois, il vous est interdit de vous servir de votre titre de ministre, de ministre d'État ou de secrétaire parlementaire pour tenter d'influencer l'issue d'un processus. Vous et votre personnel ne devez pas :

  • demander qu'une décision favorable soit rendue ou qu'un dossier soit traité en priorité;

  • réserver à vos propres électeurs un traitement plus favorable que celui accordé aux électeurs des autres circonscriptions;

  • communiquer avec votre propre ministère ou avec un organisme relevant de votre portefeuille au nom de vos propres électeurs ou de ceux d'un collègue du Cabinet;

  • tenter d'influencer un résultat ou d'obtenir un traitement de faveur d'un collègue du Cabinet.

4. Décisions des tribunaux administratifs fédéraux

Les tribunaux administratifs sont des organismes créés par voie législative qui servent à trancher diverses questions quasi judiciaires. Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada et la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada sont des exemples de tribunaux administratifs.

Vous et votre personnel pouvez aider les électeurs en leur expliquant les processus des tribunaux administratifs ou en leur fournissant les coordonnées des personnes-ressources pertinentes.

Cependant, vous ne devez en aucun cas tenter d'intervenir dans le processus décisionnel d'un tribunal administratif au nom d'un électeur, peu importe sa circonscription, ou de faire accélérer le traitement d'une demande. Un tel geste pourrait être considéré comme une tentative visant à influencer une décision, ce qui contreviendrait à l'article 9 de la Loi[iii].

5. Aide pour des demandes de financement fédéral

En règle générale, vous pouvez fournir des lettres d'appui à des projets dans votre circonscription pour lesquels des fonds fédéraux sont demandés. Vous devez alors le faire à titre de député et utiliser votre papier à en-tête de député, et non le papier à en-tête ministériel.

Cependant, si la demande de fonds est adressée à votre propre ministère ou à un organisme relevant de votre portefeuille, vous ne pouvez pas fournir de lettres d'appui ni favoriser cette demande de financement de quelque façon que ce soit.

6. Références et autres formes d'appui

Vous pouvez fournir une lettre de recommandation, mais vous devez d'abord déterminer s'il est plus approprié de le faire à titre officiel ou personnel. Une lettre de recommandation ne devrait pas être de portée générale et adressée, par exemple, « À qui de droit ». Elle doit être adressée à une personne ou à une organisation en particulier et porter sur un sujet précis, pour éviter qu'on s'en serve à des fins autres que celles qui sont prévues.

Si vous produisez une lettre de recommandation pour quelqu'un qui fait partie de vos relations personnelles (p. ex. parent, ami, camarade de classe, voisin, membre d'un groupe auquel vous appartenez), vous ne devez pas vous servir de votre papier à en-tête officiel de ministre, de secrétaire parlementaire ou de député, ni de ces titres, à l'exception de vos titres honorifiques (p. ex. l'honorable Jean Dupont).

Afin de fournir des références d'appréciation morale et d'emploi en votre qualité officielle, vous devez connaître personnellement la personne faisant l'objet de la référence. Si la référence porte sur un ancien employé ou bénévole ou sur une connaissance et que vous la fournissez en votre qualité de député, de ministre ou de secrétaire parlementaire, vous pouvez vous servir de votre papier à en-tête officiel de ministre, de secrétaire parlementaire ou de député et de vos titres, selon le cas.

Pour respecter le principe du mérite, si la personne faisant l'objet de la référence cherche un emploi dans un ministère ou un organisme fédéral, le ministre ou le secrétaire parlementaire ne peut écrire à un fonctionnaire du ministère, de la société d'État ou de l'organisme en question pour appuyer cette candidature ou au sujet de toute autre question relevant du processus de dotation ou d'appel, ou du processus de grief prévu par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. Cependant, il peut accepter que son nom apparaisse dans la liste des références du curriculum vitæ de la personne afin de fournir des références sur demande.

Les nominations par les ministres sont exclues du champ d'application de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique. Dans le cas d'une nomination faite par un autre ministre, une lettre de recommandation peut être envoyée par les ministres, les ministres d'État et les secrétaires parlementaires au ministre responsable. Les ministres, ministres d'État et secrétaires parlementaires peuvent aussi fournir des lettres de recommandation pour les nominations faites par le gouverneur en conseil.

7. Si vous avez encore des doutes

Les conseillers du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique sont là pour vous aider si vous avez des doutes quant à la conduite à adopter dans des cas particuliers. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Commissariat par téléphone, au 613-995-0721, ou par courriel à l'adresse ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

8. Rapports d'étude pertinents

Le rapport Philpott
Le rapport Gill
Le rapport Finley 
Le rapport Paradis (décembre 2013)
Le rap​​port Clement
Le rapport Paradis (mars 2012)
Le rapport Watson


i Voir, par exemple, Le rapport Finley.
ii Voir, par exemple, Le rapport Paradis (décembre 2013).
iii Voir, par exemple, Le rapport Gill ainsi que les ordonnances émises à Eve Adams et à Colin Carrie.


Dans cette vidéo, le commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique Mario Dion fournit des conseils aux ministres et aux secrétaires parlementaires sur la façon de se conformer à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts, tout en travaillant au profit de leurs électeurs et électrices.

Voir la transcription


Date de modification :