Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Political activities of ministers, ministers of state, parliamentary secretaries and ministerial staff during a federal election period

​​​P​DF​ Version​​

This document is intended to provide general information about your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act. It must be read in conjunction with other relevant information notices. Public office holders are encouraged to contact the Office for confidential advice about their individual situation. Please call 613-995-0721 or email ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

This document intends to provide advice to ministers, ministers of state, parliamentary secretaries and ministerial staff and other reporting public office holders on how to meet their obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act during a federal election period.

An election period begins with the dissolution of Parliament—which terminates all business in the Senate and the House of Commons—and the issuance of writs for a general election. Unless Parliament is dissolved earlier, each general election is held on the third Monday of October in the fourth calendar year following polling day for the last general election, in accordance with the Canada Elections Act.


Source:  Subsection 15(4) of the Conflict of Interest Act

1. What is permitted under the Conflict of Interest Act?

While section 15 of the Act prohibits reporting public office holders from engaging in certain outside activities, nothing in that section prohibits or restricts the political activities[i] of a reporting public office holder. However, in the context of political activities such as fundraisers, ministers, ministers of state, parliamentary secretaries and ministerial staff must be mindful of the prohibition, under section 16, against personally soliciting funds from any person or organization if it would place them in a conflict of interest.

Furthermore, other Acts of Parliament, policies, or your terms and conditions of employment may prohibit you from engaging in certain political activities. It is recommended that you consult the appropriate departmental officials prior to engaging in any political activity.

2. What is required by the Conflict of Interest Act?

Unless you resigned or your position was terminated, you remain subject to the Conflict of Interest Act during election periods, even if you are on leave without pay. As a result, you must continue to comply with the Act's rules, including those regarding:

While parliamentary secretaries are no longer subject to the Act's compliance provisions, they are subject to its post-employment provisions[ii].

3. Are there other guidelines and policies?

You should be aware that other government guidelines and policies related to political activities may apply to you. For example:

Our Office does not administer these instruments and cannot give advice on how to comply with them.


i Political activities are not defined in the Act but are generally understood to include activities such as:
(a) carrying on any activity in support of, within or in opposition to a political party;
(b) carrying on any activity in support of or in opposition to a candidate before or during an election period; or
(c) seeking nomination as or being a candidate in an election before or during the election period.

ii Subsection 46(3), Parliament of Canada Act

In this video, Craig Fletcher from the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner provides some guidance for ministers, ministers of state, parliamentary secretaries and ministerial staff on how to meet their obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act during a federal election period. 

View Transcript


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

les activités politiques des ministres, des ministres d’État, des secrétaires parlementaires et du personnel ministériel pendant une période électorale fédérale

​​​​​​Version PD​F

Ce document a pour objet de fournir des renseignements généraux sur vos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Il doit être lu conjointement avec d'autres avis d'information pertinents. Pour tout conseil confidentiel propre à leur situation, les titulaires de charge publique sont invités à communiquer avec le Commissariat au 613-995-0721 ou à ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.

Le présent document a été préparé pour donner aux ministres, aux ministres d'État, aux secrétaires parlementaires, au personnel ministériel et aux autres titulaires de charge publique principaux des renseignements sur la façon de respecter leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts pendant une période électorale fédérale.

La période électorale est déclenchée par la dissolution du Parlement – qui met un terme aux travaux du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes – et par l'émission de brefs pour une élection générale. À moins que le Parlement ne soit dissout plus tôt, chaque élection générale a lieu le troisième lundi d'octobre de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour de scrutin de la dernière élection générale, conformément à la Loi électorale du Canada.


Source : Paragraphe 15(4) de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts

1. Quelles sont les activités permises en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts?

Bien que l'article 15 de la Loi interdise à un titulaire de charge publique principal de participer à certaines activités extérieures, rien dans cet article n'interdit ou ne restreint les activités politiques[i] d'un titulaire de charge publique principal. Cependant, dans le cas d'activités politiques comme la sollicitation de fonds, les ministres, les ministres d'État, les secrétaires parlementaires et le personnel ministériel doivent être conscients de l'interdiction, énoncée à l'article 16, de solliciter personnellement des fonds d'une personne ou d'un organisme si une telle activité les place en situation de conflits d'intérêts.

En outre, il est possible que d'autres lois du Parlement, des politiques ou vos conditions d'emploi vous interdisent de participer à certaines activités politiques. Nous vous recommandons de consulter les représentants ministériels compétents avant de vous livrer à quelque activité politique que ce soit.

2. Quelles sont les exigences de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts?

À moins que vous ayez démissionné ou que votre emploi ait pris fin, vous demeurez assujetti à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts pendant les périodes électorales, et ce, même si vous êtes en congé non payé. Par conséquent, vous devez continuer de respecter les règles énoncées dans la Loi, notamment en ce qui concerne :

Les secrétaires parlementaires ne sont plus assujettis aux dispositions de la Loi relatives à la conformité, mais ils sont tenus de respecter les dispositions relatives à l'après-mandat[ii].

3. Y a-t-il d'autres lignes directrices et politiques?

Vous devez savoir que d'autres lignes directrices ou politiques gouvernementales sur les activités politiques s'appliquent peut-être à votre situation. Voici quelques exemples :

Le Commissariat n'est pas responsable de l'application de ces textes et, par conséquent, ne saurait donner de conseils sur la manière de s'y conformer.


i Bien qu'elles ne soient pas définies dans la Loi, on entend généralement par « activités politiques » :
a) toute activité exercée au sein d'un parti politique, ou exercée pour soutenir un tel parti ou pour s'y opposer;
b) toute activité exercée pour soutenir un candidat avant ou pendant une période électorale, ou pour s'y opposer;
c) le fait d'être candidat à une élection ou de tenter de tenter de le devenir, avant ou pendant la période électorale.

ii Loi sur le Parlement du Canada, paragraphe 46(3)

Dans cette vidéo, le c​ommissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique Mario Dion donne des conseils aux ministres, aux ministres d’État, aux secrétaires parlementaires et au personnel ministériel sur la façon de se conformer aux obligations que leur impose la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts en période d’élection fédérale.​

Voir la transcr​iption


Date de modification :