Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Measures Relating to Confidential Report and Divestment of Controlled Assets

PDF​ Version​

​This summary, prepared by the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, is intended as a quick reference for reporting public office holders. The Conflict of Interest Act itself is the final authority.

Confidential Report

Under subsections 22(1) and 22(2) of the Conflict of Interest Act, all reporting public office holders (RPOHs) must, within 60 days after their appointment, submit to the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner a Confidential Report containing the following information:

  • a description of all assets and their estimated value (paragraph 22(2)(a));​
  • a description, including the amount, of all direct and contingent liabilities (paragraph 22(2)(b));
  • a description of all income received during the 12 months before the day of appointment and all income they are entitled to receive in the 12 months following the day of appointment (paragraph 22(2)(c));
  • a description of all activities referred to in section 15 in which they were engaged in the two-year period before the day of appointment (paragraph 22(2)(d));
  • a description of their involvement in philanthropic, charitable or non-commercial activities in the two-year period before the day of appointment (paragraph 22(2)(e));
  • a description of all activities as trustee, executor or liquidator of a succession, or holder of a power of attorney in the two-year period before the day of appointment (paragraph 22(2)(f)); and
  • any other information that the Commissioner considers necessary in order to ensure compliance with the Act (paragraph 22(2)(g)).

Divestment of Controlled Assets

The Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner will advise RPOHs on the requirement to divest controlled assets, either by selling them in an arm's length transaction or by placing them in a blind trust that meets the requirements of the Act, within 120 days of appointment (subsection 27(1)). The executor of a blind trust has full discretion over the assets held in trust and the trust beneficiary has no knowledge of the trust's holdings (subsection 27(4)). Please see also backgrounder on Bl​​ind Trusts​.

Certain costs associated with divesting controlled assets may be eligible for reimbursement on the recommendation of the Commissioner (section 31). See also Guideline on the Reimbursement of Costs Associated with Divestment of Assets and Withdrawal from Activities​.

Summary Statement

RPOHs must sign a Summary Statement and provide it to the Commissioner within 120 days after the day of their appointment (subsection 26(1)). The statement will contain the following information, if applicable:

  • a description of each controlled asset and each asset ordered divested under section 30 as well as the method of divestment (paragraph 26(2)(a));
  • a description of the matter and the information regarding the process to be put in place to effect any recusal ordered by the Office under section 30 (paragraph 26(2)(b)); and
  • a description of any other matter upon which the Office has issued an order under section 30 (paragraph 26(2)(c)), together with the steps taken to comply.

The Office will, on an annual basis, review the information in each Confidential Report and the measures taken to comply with the Act (section 28).

Public office holders are invited to contact their advisors in the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner for assistance and advice regarding their obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act in connection with the Confidential Report, the divestment of controlled assets or any other matter, by telephone at 613-995-0721 or by email at ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Mesures relatives au rapport confidentiel et au dessaisissement de biens contrôlés

Version PDF​

​Le présent résumé, préparé par le Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique, doit servir d'aide-mémoire aux titulaires de charge publique principaux; la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts est l'autorité de dernière instance.

Rapport confidentiel

En vertu des paragraphes 22(1) et 22(2) de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts, tout titulaire de charge publique principal doit, dans les 60 jours qui suivent sa nomination, remettre au commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique un Rapport confidentiel contenant les renseignements suivants :

  • la liste détaillée de tous ses biens avec le​ur valeur estimative (alinéa 22(2)a));
  • la liste détaillée de la totalité de ses dettes réelles et éventuelles, ave​c le montant de chacune d'elles (alinéa 22(2)b));
  • la liste détaillée de tous les revenus qu'il a perçus au cours des 12 mois précédant la date de sa nomination et de tous ceux auxquels il a droit au cours des 12 mois suivants (alinéa 22(2)c));
  • la liste détaillée de toutes les activités visées à l'article 15 auxquelles il a participé au cours des deux années précédant la date de sa nomination (alinéa 22(2)d));
  • la liste détaillée des activités philanthropiques, caritatives ou à but non lucratif auxquelles il a participé aux cours des deux années précédant la date de sa nomination (alinéa 22(2)e));
  • la liste détaillée de toutes les activités qu'il a exercées à titre de fiduciaire, d'exécuteur testamentaire, de liquidateur de succession ou de mandataire au cours des deux années précédant la date de sa nomination (alinéa 22(2)f));
  • t​out autre renseignements que le commissaire estime nécessaire pour s'assurer qu'il se conforme à la Loi (alinéa 22(2)g)).

Dessaisissement de biens contrôlés

Le Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique conseillera les titulaires de charge publique principaux au sujet de se dessaisir de leurs biens contrôlés en les vendant dans le cadre d'une opération sans lien de dépendance ou en les plaçant dans une fiducie sans droit de regard qui satisfait aux exigences de la Loi, et ce, dans les 120 jours qui suivent leur nomination (article 27(1)). Dans une fiducie sans droit de regard, le fiduciaire ne connaît pas la composition de cette dernière (paragraphe 27(4)). Voir aussi la fiche d'information sur les fiducie​​s sans droit de regard​.

Certains frais associés au dessaisissement de biens contrôlés peuvent être remboursés sur la recommandation du commissaire (article 31). Voir aussi la Directive sur le remboursement des frais relatifs au dessaisissement de biens et au retrait des activités​.

Déclaration sommaire

Les titulaires de charge publique principaux doivent signer une Déclaration sommaire et la fournir au commissaire dans les 120 jours suivant leur nomination (paragraphe 26(1)). La déclaration contiendra les renseignements suivants, au besoin :

  • une description de tout bien contrôlé et de tout bien qui fait l'objet d'une ordonnance de dessaisissement en vertu de l'article 30 ainsi que les dispositions prises pour s'en dessaisir (alinéa 26(2)a));
  • une description de l'affaire et les renseignements concernant les dispositions à prendre pour donner suite à toute récusation ordonnée par le Commissariat en vertu de l'article 30 ​(alinéa 26(2)b));
  • une description de toute autre affaire faisant l'objet d'une ordonnance du Commissariat en vertu de l'article 30 (alinéa 26(2)c)), ainsi que des mesures prises pour s'y conformer.

Le Commissariat examinera, une fois par an, les renseignements contenus dans chaque Rapport confidentiel et les mesures prises pour respecter les obligations imposées par la Loi (article 28).

Nous invitons tous les titulaires de charge publique de communiquer avec leur conseiller au Commissariat aux conflits et à l'éthique pour obtenir des conseils au sujet de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts en ce qui concerne le Rapport confidentiel, le dessaisissement de biens contrôlés ou toute autre affaire, par téléphone 613-995-0721 ou par courriel à ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.


Date de modification :