Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Conflict of interest screens

​​​​P​DF​ Version

This document is intended to provide general information about your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act. It must be read in conjunction with other relevant information notices. Public office holders are encouraged to contact the Office for confidential advice about their individual situation. Please call 613-995-0721 or email info@cie.parl.gc.ca.

Source: Section 29 of the Conflict of Interest Act

1. What is authorized by the Conflict o​​​f Interest Act?

The Act gives the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner the authority to:

  • determine the appropriate measures you must take to comply with the Act and, in doing so, the Commissioner will try to achieve agreement with you; and
  • order you, in respect of any matter, to take any compliance measures the Commissioner determines necessary to comply with the Act.

These compliance measures may include divestment, confidential disclosure, public declarations, recusal, or other measures. Conflict of interest screens are also used to achieve compliance with the Act.

2. What is a conflict of interest screen?

A conflict of interest screen is a preventive compliance measure, agreed upon pursuant to section 29 of the Act by a public office holder and the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, to assist the public office holder in avoiding conflicts of interest. A screen also seeks to minimize the possibility of conflicts arising between the public duties of the public office holder and their private interests or those of their relatives and friends. 

A screen includes:

  • a description of the conflict of interest;
  • the names of the individuals and/or entities involved;
  • the title of the screen administrator and a description of their responsibilities; and
  • a statement that you agree to abstain from any discussions, decisions, debate or votes concerning the matter that forms the subject of the conflict of interest.

​Conflict of interest screens are established with your agreement where it is likely that you will be involved in discussions or decision-making processes that provide an opportunity to further your private interests or those of a relative or friend, or to improperly further another person's private interests. Although there is no obligation under the Act to make conflict of interest screens public, the Commissioner has the discretion to formalize these measures and post them on the Office's public registry.

The Office will help you identify areas where it is likely that a conflict of interest will arise. Arrangements are then made with your department or organization to ensure that you are not involved in decision-making processes or discussions in respect of matters that could give rise to a conflict of interest.

Someone from within your department or organization is tasked with administering the conflict of interest screen. Individuals within your department or organization are also notified of its existence. Other officials may also be notified. In this way, matters that pose a risk of conflict of interest will not be brought to your attention.

Because such matters are not brought to your attention, you are not placed in a conflict of interest and are therefore not required to recuse yourself from these matters. If a matter that forms part of the screen is brought to your attention, you must still recuse yourself and make a public declaration of your recusal within 60 days after the day on which the recusal took place. The declaration must provide sufficient detail to identify the conflict of interest that was avoided.

In some cases, the Office will determine that the possibility of your involvement in a matter is so remote or the risk of conflict of interest is so low that the establishment of a screen is not appropriate. However, if any conflict of interest situation does arise, your obligation to recuse yourself remains.

Your organization may establish additional conflict of interest measures not required under the Act for you to avoid dealing with certain matters. Any such measures should be disclosed to the Office.

Examples of existing conflict of interest screens can be found on our public registry.

You may also be interested in reading our information notice on recusal obligations.


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Filtres anti-conflits d’intérêts

Version P​DF

Ce document a pour objet de fournir des renseignements généraux sur vos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Il doit être lu conjointement avec d'autres avis d'information pertinents. Pour tout conseil confidentiel propre à leur situation, les titulaires de charge publique peuvent communiquer avec le Commissariat au 613‑995-0721 ou à info@cie.parl.gc.ca.

Source : Article 29 de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts

1. Que prévoit la Loi sur les conflits​​ d'intérêts?

La Loi donne à la ou au commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique le pouvoir de :

  • déterminer la mesure à appliquer pour que vous vous conformiez à la Loi et de tenter d'en arriver à un accord avec vous à ce sujet;
  • vous ordonner de prendre, à l'égard de toute affaire, toute mesure que la ou le commissaire estime nécessaire pour assurer l'observation de la Loi.

Ces mesures d'observation peuvent comprendre notamment le dessaisissement, la divulgation confidentielle, les déclarations publiques, la récusation ou autres mesures. Le filtre anti-conflits d'intérêts est aussi utilisé pour se conformer à la Loi.

2. Qu'est-ce qu'un filtre anti-conflits d'intérêts?

Le filtre anti-conflits d'intérêts est une mesure d'observation préventive convenue conformément à l'article 29 de la Loi entre la ou le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et la ou le titulaire de charge publique afin d'aider ce dernier à éviter les conflits d'intérêts. Le filtre sert également à réduire la possibilité qu'un conflit survienne entre les fonctions officielles de la ou du titulaire de charge publique et ses intérêts personnels ou ceux de sa famille et de ses amies et amis. 

Le filtre comprend :

  • une description du conflit d'intérêts;
  • le nom des personnes ou entités visées;
  • le titre de l'administratrice ou l'administrateur du filtre et une description de ses responsabilités;
  • une déclaration selon laquelle vous acceptez de vous abstenir de participer aux discussions, décisions, délibérations ou votes concernant l'affaire qui fait l'objet du conflit d'intérêts.

Le filtre anti-conflits d'intérêts est appliqué avec votre accord lorsque vous vous trouvez dans une situation où vous devrez vraisemblablement participer à des discussions ou des décisions qui pourraient vous permettre de favoriser vos intérêts personnels ou ceux de parentes ou parents, ou d'amies ou amis, ou de favoriser indûment les intérêts personnels d'une autre personne. Même si la Loi n'exige pas la publication des filtres anti-conflits d'intérêts, la ou le commissaire a le pouvoir discrétionnaire d'officialiser ces mesures et les verser au registre public du Commissariat.

Le Commissariat vous aidera à cerner les domaines où il est probable qu'un conflit d'intérêts survienne. Des dispositions sont ensuite prises avec votre ministère ou organisme pour s'assurer que vous ne participiez pas aux décisions ou aux discussions concernant des questions qui pourraient donner lieu à un conflit d'intérêts.

Une personne de votre ministère ou organisme est chargée d'appliquer le filtre. De plus, les personnes au sein de votre ministère ou organisme sont avisées de l'application du filtre, tout comme peuvent l'être d'autres fonctionnaires. Ainsi, les questions qui présentent un risque de conflit d'intérêts ne seront pas portées à votre attention.

Puisque les questions ne sont pas portées à votre attention, vous ne vous retrouvez pas en situation de conflit d'intérêts et n'êtes pas tenu de vous récuser de ces questions. Si une question visée par le filtre est portée à votre attention, vous devez quand même vous récuser et faire une déclaration publique dans les 60 jours suivant la date de la récusation. Cette déclaration doit fournir suffisamment d'information pour définir le conflit d'intérêts évité.

Dans certains cas, le Commissariat juge que la possibilité que la ou le titulaire de charge publique participe à une affaire est si mince ou que le risque de conflit d'intérêts est si faible qu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'appliquer un filtre. Toutefois, si un conflit d'intérêts survient, vous avez quand même le devoir de vous récuser.

Votre organisation peut appliquer d'autres filtres anti-conflits d'intérêts non exigés par la Loi, afin de vous éviter de traiter certaines affaires. Ces mesures devraient être communiquées au Commissariat.

Vous trouverez des exemples de filtres anti-conflits d'intérêts dans le registre public.

Vous voudrez peut-être aussi lire notre avis d'information sur les obligations de récusation.


Date de modification :