Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Travel Rules for Members of the House of Commons

​​The Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons allows Members who are not ministers or parliamentary to accept, for themselves and guests, sponsored travel that arises from or relates to their position.

Sponsored travel is travel the costs of which exceed $200 and are not wholly paid from the Consolidated Revenue Fund or by the Member personally, their political party or any parliamentary association recognized by the House of Commons.

Sponsored travel is not considered a gift under the Code and is therefore excluded from the gift rule prohibiting Members from accepting gifts or other benefits that might reasonably be seen to have been given to influence them.

Members must, within 60 days after the end of a trip, file a statement with the Commissioner disclosing the travel. The statement is posted in the public ​registry.

Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner Mario Dion is also required to submit to the Speaker of the House of Commons a list of sponsored travel by Members during the previous calendar year. The list is submitted by March 31 each year.

Sponsored travel is governed by section 15 of the Code. Section 15 replaced former House of Commons Standing Order 22. Standing Order 22 came into effect in February 1986 and required that such travel be recorded in a public registry maintained by the Clerk of the House of Commons.


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Règles sur les déplacements visant les députés

​Le Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des députés permet aux députés qui ne sont pas ministres ou secrétaires parlementaires d’accepter, pour eux-mêmes et leurs invités, des déplacements parrainés liés à leur charge de député.

On appelle « déplacements parrainés » les déplacements dont les coûts dépassent 200 $ et qui ne sont pas entièrement pris en charge par le Trésor, par le député ou son parti, ou encore par une association parlementaire reconnue par la Chambre des communes.

Les déplacements parrainés ne sont pas considérés comme des cadeaux aux termes du Code et sont donc exclus de la règle sur les cadeaux, qui interdit aux députés d’accepter des cadeaux dont on pourrait raisonnablement penser qu’ils ont été offerts pour influencer le député dans l’exercice de sa charge de député.

Les députés doivent déposer auprès du commissaire une déclaration faisant état du déplacement, dans les soixante jours qui suivent la fin de tout déplacement parrainé.

Le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique est tenu de préparer une liste des voyages parrainés qu’ont effectués les députés et de soumettre cette liste au Président de la Chambre des communes, au 31 mars de chaque année. Les déplacements parrainés sont également affichés dans le registre public.

Les déplacements parrainés sont régis par l’article 15 du Code, qui remplace ainsi l’article 22 du Règlement de la Chambre des communes. L'article 22 est entré en vigueur en février 1986 et stipulait que ces déplacements devaient être inscrits au registre public maintenu par le greffier de la Chambre des communes.


Date de modification :