Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Offers of Outside Employment

​​PDF Version​​

This document is intended to provide general information about your obligations under the Conflict of Interest Act. It must be read in conjunction with other relevant information notices. Public office holders are encouraged to contact the Office for confidential advice about their individual situation. Please call 613-995-0721 or email ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.


Source: Section 10 and section 24 of the Conflict of Interest Act

1. What is required by the Conflict of Interest Act?

The Act prohibits public office holders from being influenced in the exercise of an official power, duty or function by plans for, or offers of, outside employment.

When reporting public office holders receive firm offers of outside employment (that is to say, employment not subject to the Act) or accept such offers, they are required to disclose this information to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner.

2. Firm offers of outside employment while you are a reporting public office holder

You must disclose all firm offers of outside employment to the Office within seven days after receiving them.

The term "outside employment" refers to employment that falls outside the scope of the Act's substantive conflict of interest rules. This includes any position that creates an employer/employee relationship, as well as most service contracts, appointments to boards of directors and partnerships. It also encompasses employment with federal public sector entities as a public servant and employment with a political party.

A "firm offer of employment" includes any serious offer, whether written or verbal, even if you do not consider it further. A legally binding agreement does not need to be in place for an offer to be firm. The conditions for a firm offer would, for example, be met once discussions are initiated regarding key elements such as salary level, vacation and benefits. Similarly, in situations involving a service contract, a firm offer would occur when you and the other party agree to enter into discussion of the details of the agreement and the object of the contract is defined.

If you are considering accepting an offer, your advisor will review your disclosure and provide advice on the permissibility of accepting it in light of your current or post-employment obligations.

3. Accepting an offer of outside employment while you are a reporting public office holder

If you subsequently accept an offer of outside employment, you must also disclose this acceptance in writing to the Office within seven days. You should not wait until a letter of offer or agreement is formally signed and executed. You should advise the Office when you have accepted the offer even if there are still some matters open to negotiation between you and your future employer, such as a starting date, salary and benefits.

When the Office receives your disclosure, your advisor will provide you with additional guidance with respect to your current and post-employment obligations.

4. Offers of employment once you have left office

While it is not mandatory to disclose an offer of employment that you receive after your departure from public office, we recommend that you contact the Office during your cooling-off period or when in doubt, so that we can provide guidance on complying with your post-employment obligations.

5. Failure to comply with the disclosure requirements

When the Commissioner has reason to believe that a public office holder was influenced in the exercise of an official power, duty or function by plans for, or offers of, outside employment, he may commence an examination.

If the Commissioner finds that a reporting public office holder has not complied with the disclosure requirements, he may impose an administrative monetary penalty of up to $500. Such penalties are made public.

You may be interested in reading our information notices on Post-Employment Rules and Outside Activities.

​In this video, Craig Fletcher from the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner ex​​plains the Conflict of Interest Act's rules and reporting requirements regarding receiving or accepting firm offers of outside employment.

View​ ​Tr​anscript


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

les offres d'emploi de l'extérieur

​​​ Version P​DF​​

Ce document a pour objet de fournir des renseignements généraux sur vos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Il doit être lu conjointement avec d'autres avis d'information pertinents. Pour tout conseil confidentiel propre à leur situation, les titulaires de charge publique sont invités à communiquer avec le Commissariat au 613‑995‑0721 ou à ciec-ccie@parl.gc.ca.


 Source : Article 10 et article 24 de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts

1. Que prévoit la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts?

La Loi interdit au titulaire de charge publique de se laisser influencer dans l'exercice de ses fonctions officielles par des projets ou des offres d'emploi de l'extérieur.

Lorsque le titulaire de charge publique principal reçoit ou accepte une offre ferme d'emploi de l'extérieur (c'est-à-dire un emploi qui n'est pas assujetti à la Loi), il est tenu de communiquer cette information au Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

2. Offres fermes d'emploi de l'extérieur lorsqu'on est titulaire de charge publique principal

Vous avez l'obligation de communiquer au Commissariat toutes les offres fermes d'emploi de l'extérieur dans les sept jours suivant leur réception.

Le terme « emploi de l'extérieur » renvoie à tout emploi dépassant la portée des règles de base de la Loi visant les conflits d'intérêts. Cela englobe les postes qui créent une relation employeur-employé, la plupart des contrats de service, les nominations à des conseils d'administration et les sociétés de personnes. Cela comprend également l'emploi au sein d'entités du secteur public fédéral comme fonctionnaire et l'emploi dans un parti politique.

Une «  offre ferme d'emploi » comprend toute offre sérieuse, qu'elle soit écrite ou verbale, même si vous n'envisagez pas d'y répondre. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir conclu une entente exécutoire pour qu'une offre soit considérée comme ferme. L'offre serait réputée ferme à partir du moment où, par exemple, vous avez discuté des principaux éléments de l'emploi, comme le salaire, les congés et les avantages sociaux. De même, dans les cas d'un contrat de service, une offre sera réputée ferme lorsque l'autre partie et vous-même acceptez de discuter des détails de l'entente et que vous avez défini l'objet du contrat.

Si vous envisagez d'accepter une offre, votre conseiller examinera votre déclaration et vous dira, en fonction de vos obligations actuelles ou d'après-mandat, si vous êtes autorisé à l'accepter.

3. Accepter une offre d'emploi de l'extérieur lorsqu'on est titulaire de charge publique principal

Si vous acceptez par la suite une offre d'emploi de l'extérieur, vous devez aussi communiquer par écrit au Commissariat dans les sept jours pour l'en aviser. Vous ne devriez pas attendre que la lettre d'offre ou l'entente soit officiellement signée et exécutée pour en faire part au Commissariat, même s'il vous reste des points à négocier avec votre futur employeur, comme la date d'entrée en service, le salaire et les avantages sociaux.

Une fois que le Commissariat aura reçu votre divulgation, votre conseiller vous donnera d'autres conseils à l'égard de vos obligations actuelles et d'après-mandat.

4. Offre d'emploi après avoir cessé d'occuper sa charge

Même si vous n'êtes pas tenu de déclarer une offre d'emploi si vous la recevez après avoir quitté votre charge publique, nous vous recommandons de contacter le Commissariat pendant votre période de restriction ou si vous avez des doutes afin que nous puissions vous aider à vous conformer à vos obligations d'après-mandat.

5. Défaut de se conformer aux exigences en matière de divulgation

Si le commissaire a des motifs de croire qu'un titulaire de charge publique s'est laissé influencer dans l'exercice de ses fonctions officielles par des projets ou des offres d'emploi de l'extérieur, il peut amorcer une étude.

Si le commissaire conclut qu'un titulaire de charge publique principal ne s'est pas conformé aux exigences en matière de divulgation, il peut lui imposer une pénalité d'au plus 500 $. Ces pénalités sont ensuite rendues publiques.

Vous êtes invité à consulter nos avis d'information sur les obligations d'après-mandat et les activités extérieures.

​Dans cette vidéo, le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique Mario Dion explique les règles et les exigenc​​es en matière de déclaration que prévoit la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts en ce qui concerne la réception ou l’acceptation d’une offre ferme d’emploi de l’extérieur.​

Voir la tr​anscr​iption​


Date de modification :