Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Gift Rules for Members of the House of Commons

​Members of the House of Commons and their family members are not allowed to accept gifts or other benefits that might reasonably be seen to have been given to influence the Members in the exercise of a duty or function of their office.

The Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons expr​​essly provides that this acceptability test also applies to gifts or other benefits received when attending charitable or political events, as well as to gifts or other benefits received from an all-party caucus established in relation to a particular subject or interest.

Trinkets or favours, such as pins, pens, notepads, key chains, T-shirts or inexpensive carrying cases provided to event attendees would generally not reasonably be seen to have been given to influence Members. They may also accept gifts or other benefits that are not related to their position from family and friends.

There are exceptions to the acceptability test. Members and their family members may accept gifts or other benefits received as a normal expression of courtesy or protocol, or that are within the customary standards of hospitality that normally accompany the Members’ position.

A "normal expression of courtesy or protocol" would include a token expression of appreciation received in the context of some official interaction, for example if a Member is performing a ceremonial or representational role at the event, as a speaker, presenter, host or parliamentary representative. This exception would also apply to a ticket offered to the Member’s guest.

What is considered to be within the "customary standards of hospitality" accompanying a Member’s position depends on the circumstances. For example, a gift or other benefit given by a visiting official from a foreign or international organization would normally be covered by this exception.

If a gift or other benefit is unacceptable under the Code, Members and their family members are prohibited not only from accepting it directly, but also from accepting it indirectly. This means that gifts and other benefits that do not pass the acceptability test cannot be accepted by Members’ staff or anyone else on their behalf or instead of them. Members may not give or redirect an unacceptable gift to someone else, donate it to a charity or direct that it be donated to a charity in their name or in the name of another person, including a family member.

If, in error, a Member or a member of their family accepts a gift or other benefit that might reasonably be seen to have been given to influence the Member, they must return it immediately or reimburse the donor for its cost.


Last Modified:

Ignorer les commandes du ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Règles sur les cadeaux visant les députés

​Les députés et les membres de leur famille ne peuvent pas accepter des cadeaux ou autres avantages dont on pourrait raisonnablement penser qu’ils ont été offerts pour influencer les députés dans l’exercice de leur charge de député.

Le Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés sti​​pule expressément que ce critère d’acceptabilité s’applique également aux cadeaux ou autres avantages liés à un événement caritatif ou politique, ainsi qu’aux cadeaux ou autres avantages reçus d’un caucus multipartite établi relativement à un sujet ou intérêt précis.

Les bibelots ou les petits objets de faible valeur, comme les épinglettes, les crayons, les carnets de notes, les porte-clés, les t-shirts et les étuis peu coûteux offerts aux députés ne seraient généralement pas perçus comme des cadeaux offerts dans le but de les influencer. Les députés peuvent également accepter des cadeaux ou autres avantages qui ne sont pas liés à leurs fonctions, de la part de leur famille et de leurs amis.

Il y a certaines exceptions au critère d’acceptabilité. Les députés et les membres de leur famille peuvent accepter des cadeaux ou autres avantages qui sont des marques normales ou habituelles de courtoisie ou de protocole ou des marques d’accueil habituellement reçues dans le cadre de la charge du député.

Les « marques normales ou habituelles de courtoisie ou de protocole » comprennent un témoignage symbolique de reconnaissance dans le cadre d’interactions officielles, par exemple, à la suite d’une présence, d’un discours ou d’une présentation du député. Cette exception s’appliquerait aussi à un billet pour assister à l’événement offert à l’invité du député.

Ce que l’on considère comme une « marque d’accueil habituelle » associée à la charge du député dépend des circonstances. À titre d’exemple, un cadeau ou autre avantage offert par une délégation officielle d’un organisme étranger ou international serait normalement couvert par cette exception.

Si le cadeau ou autre avantage est inacceptable aux termes du Code, il est non seulement interdit au député et aux membres de sa famille de l’accepter directement, mais aussi de l’accepter indirectement. C’est donc dire que les cadeaux ou autres avantages qui ne satisfont pas au critère d’acceptabilité ne peuvent être acceptés par son personnel ni par quiconque en son nom ou à sa place. Un député ne peut donner ou rediriger un cadeau inacceptable à quelqu’un d’autre, ni le remettre à un organisme de bienfaisance ou ordonner qu’il soit remis à un organisme de bienfaisance en son nom ou au nom d’une autre personne, y compris un membre de leur famille.

Si, par erreur, un député ou un membre de sa famille accepte un cadeau ou autre avantage dont on pourrait raisonnablement penser qu’il a été offert pour influencer le député dans l’exercice de sa charge de député, il doit le retourner immédiatement ou rembourser son coût au donateur.


Date de modification :